Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, April 26, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,101
Newest Member: kwkwkw
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author OpenVMS Alpha 6.2-1H3 Boot CD needed.
eNet
Member

Posts: 6
Location: Stanley, KS USA
Joined: 11.07.07
Posted on July 11 2007 19:29
I have an AlphaServer 1000A 5/300 that I just picked up. I have valid 6.2 media and licenses from a previous 1000 4/233 that died on me. Now I'm trying to load up OpenVMS on the 5/300, but it requires the -1H3 to recognize the processor.

I think the disk I need is:
QA-MT1AG-H8 OpenVMS Alpha V6.2-1H3 hardware release CD-ROM (US$22)

I tried HP and they said that QA-MT1AG-H8 is no longer available.

I am a member of the Hobbyist program but from what I can determine the Hobbyist disks don't go back to 6.2-1H3.

Anyone know where I can find a 6.2-1H3 ISO or purchase so I can get the 5/300 up and running?

If anyone can help track it down, it would be greatly appreciated.

Please PM me or post back if you know where it can be found.

Regards,

eddie
Author
eNet
Member

Posts: 6
Location: Stanley, KS USA
Joined: 11.07.07
Posted on July 12 2007 21:58
On this particular box, I have commercial licenses for OpenVMS 6.2 and PathWorks that I run a business application on.

Figuring out what it will take to upgrade my OpenVMS, Layered Apps, and Pathworks licenses to 7.x or 8.x, in terms of licenses, cost, and application problems will come next.

I spent an hour and a half on the phone with HP today, got transferred through 6 different people, and never could get transferred to anyone that could help.

The enterprise solutions inside sales group lady actually asked me how to spell "VMS" and who manufacturers the "AlphaServer" machines I am trying to work with. When I told her HP bought Compaq who bought Digital, manufactures them, she said Who is Digital and does OpenVMS run on a Windows platform?

The next guy I got transferred to was in business systems technical support. He asked me if OpenVMS was the brand name of the CD-Rom Drive that I was trying to order for my server. I definitely would not want him touching one of my servers... <grin> :roll:

So, long story short, OpenVMS and AlphaServers seem to have fallen off the face of the earth as far as HP can find. And I'm no closer to finding anyone who can help me locate a boot CD for OpenVMS 6.2-1H3...

I sure wish there was a local user group close by! :lol:
Author
eNet
Member

Posts: 6
Location: Stanley, KS USA
Joined: 11.07.07
Posted on July 12 2007 22:06
Back to your suggestion about a DS20 or DS20E. My 1000A has a 15 unit license and the DS20E is a 25 unit license.

Any idea what the cost is or how to go about upgrading an OpenVMS from 15 units to 25 units?

And the next logical question is, what does it cost to upgrade from OpenVMS 6.2 licenses to 7.x or 8.x licenses? I know there is a license transfer option mentioned on the HP web site, but haven't found any definitive info on what it takes to upgrade.

And I use PathWorks to access the machine from Windows workstations. What is involved in upgrading the PathWorks software on the Alpha to work with 7.x or 8.x?

Anyone who has done that upgrade, your insight on what you ran into would be appreciated.

Regards,

Eddie
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive