Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 16, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 10
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,247
Newest Member: victornguyen
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author Alpha 4000 Firmware Upgrade
somersdave
Member

Posts: 63
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on October 22 2007 06:59
Hi All, I bought an Alpha 4000 a few months ago in a non running state and have since tried to load OpenVMS 7.3 (I believe the m/c had been running NT).

VMS attempts to boot but failed because the SRM firmware was at V5.0-2
(min. req'd v5.3)

I downloaded the firmware updates from HP to my PC to 3 floppies.

I have updated alphabios V5.7 which loads using the LFU with message 'Passed'

but when I attempted the update 'srmflash' from V5.0-2 to V6.0-4
the screen just displays :
srmflash updating to V6.0-4 ... .

and has been like that for approx. 45 mins? (17:58 UK time) - ANY ADVICE please?

...Looks like I need to get version V5.3 of the SRM firmware as an intermediate step and so does anyone know where on line to go for this, please? :?:
Author
somersdave
Member

Posts: 63
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on November 05 2007 04:18
Thanks Stephen, i'm now getting further into the boot up but I think that i'll need to start learning about disk configuration as that seems to be the next hurdle. I noted down a few days ago a 'MOUNT-F-BADPARAM' error when using INITIALIZE. dave
Author
somersdave
Member

Posts: 63
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on November 21 2007 10:03
Hi Stephen, Sorry to be slow replying. The mount error was something of a 'red herring' as tried the command with DRMA0: smileyops: which is an 'SWXCR RAID controller'

The 4000 has six 4.3 Gb disks and the 2nd one from the right has a yellow light illuminated (other green disk lights illuminate as the machine is powered up)

The CD i have is in fact OpenVMS 7.2

from SYSBOOT> continue

enter date / time

some messages, including:

SCSI channel 0 target 0 dead
channel 1 target 1 dead

The Operator console appears

selecting DCL option and "SHOW DEV D"

DAD0: ONLINE
DKA500: mounted wrtlck
DRMA0: ONLINE
DVA0: ONLINE

DAD0: /ALL type unknown, online, file oriented, shareable, error logging enabled, device is template only

when trying MOUNT DAD0: "template device cannot be allocated"

another device DAD1: "appeared" (at some point) and this gave the error
"MOUNT_F_NOTQUEUED"

when trying the INSTALL option (after exiting DCL)

Patch kits available
VMS62TO71U2_PCSI V1.0

then selecting INITIALIZE

select target disk fails : for reasons above.

I'm reading the RAID configuration utility USERS GUIDE AA-R07GA-TE
as i assume that's the way to proceed.

The 4000 has a Mylex DAC960 controller. I read that if an Alpha had been running WINDOWS NT then that can cause disk problems. I believe that someone had (at least) tried to install NT.

I hope that using the RCU software will allow some progress but wonder if the 4000 might have some other problems. Dave
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive