Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, October 19, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 22
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Software Forum
Author higer resolution possible voor gloria synergy?
ermo
Member

Posts: 7
Location: Deventer, Netherlands
Joined: 11.12.07
Posted on April 28 2008 20:49
Hi folks,

is it possible to increase the resolution for Decwindows in combination with a Gloria synergy? (yes, i know, it isn't the best video card..) The specs of this card shows me a higher resolution than i can see on my screen.

I can't see what the resolution is now (i think 800x600), but it is lower than my Debian-Linux-installation on the same system (but on another disk), which is 1280x1024.

I have a PWS 600au, 728 Mb memory and a Gloria synergy video-card.

Eric
Edited by ermo on April 29 2008 01:01
Author RE: higer resolution possible voor gloria synergy?
jkmccarthy
Member

Posts: 21
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Joined: 08.01.08
Posted on April 29 2008 04:19
If your ELSA Gloria Synergy has 8Mb of RAM, it should be able to support 1280x1024 without any problem.

Do you know where the configuration file for X-windows resides under OpenVMS ? If you post it in a follow-up message, I'm sure there are folks here who can help determine why you are not able to achieve the desired screen resolution.

Cheers,

-- Jim


http://108.245.139.61:8000/~jkm/computers.htm
Edited by jkmccarthy on April 29 2008 04:23
http://108.245.139.61:8000/~jkm/
Author RE: higer resolution possible voor gloria synergy?
ermo
Member

Posts: 7
Location: Deventer, Netherlands
Joined: 11.12.07
Posted on May 02 2008 11:29
Thanx,

I found the answer, due to the 2 replies i got. With your help i found this link:

http://www.hp.com/cgi-bin/pf-new.cgi?IN=http://h71000.www7.hp.com/wizard/wiz_5448.html

It gave me the exact information i needed. And it worked!!

Following the link brought me the the following information:

To set the resolution, vertical sync, and or color depth for the ELSA
GLoria Synergy (PBXGK-xx; PowerStorm 4D10T) on OpenVMS, use the following
steps:

1: Check for the file SYS$MANAGER:DECW$PRIVATE_SERVER_SETUP.COM.
If the file exists, skip to step 2.

If the file does not exist, then copy:

SYS$MANAGER:DECW$PRIVATE_SERVER_SETUP.TEMPLATE
to
SYS$MANAGER:DECW$PRIVATE_SERVER_SETUP.COM

2: Edit SYS$MANAGER:DECW$PRIVATE_SERVER_SETUP.COM to add the following
lines in the Cluster Common or Standalone Workstation Setup area of
the file (along with the other setup options):

This example sets Resolution to 1280x1024, Vertical Sync to 75Hz,
and a Color Depth of 24.

$! Set the Resolution X and Y Size in Pixels:
$ decw$xsize_in_pixels == 1280
$ decw$ysize_in_pixels == 1024
$! Set the Server Visual Depth:
$ define/exec/system/nolog decw$server_pixel_depth 24
$! Set the Vertical Sync Rate (vsync):
$ define/exec/system/nolog decw$server_refresh_rate 75

3: Save the file, and invoke the OpenVMS shutdown and reboot process,
or restart the DECwindows X Server (the DECW$SERVER_0 process) via:

$ @SYS$STARTUP:DECW$STARTUP RESTART


The following resolutions and refresh rates are supported by the 8MB
version of the PowerStorm 4D10T:

Resolution Color Depths Refresh Rates

640 x 480 8, 16, 24 60, 65, 70, 75, 85 Hz
800 x 600 8, 16, 24 60, 65, 70, 75, 85 Hz
1024 x 768 8, 16, 24 60, 65, 70, 75, 85 Hz
1152 x 870 8, 16, 24 60, 65, 70, 75, 85 Hz
1152 x 900 8, 16, 24 60, 65, 70, 75, 85 Hz
1280 x 1024 8, 16, 24 60, 65, 70, 75 Hz
1600 x 1200 8, 16 60, 65, 70, 75 Hz
1600 x 1280 8, 16 60, 65, 70, 75 Hz
1920 x 1080 8, 16 60, 65, 70, 75 Hz
1920 x 1200 8, 16 60, 65, 70, 75 Hz
Edited by ermo on May 02 2008 11:31
Author RE: higer resolution possible voor gloria synergy?
ermo
Member

Posts: 7
Location: Deventer, Netherlands
Joined: 11.12.07
Posted on May 04 2008 19:13
Stephen,

I'm not an expert in using google (I'm the one that only types some keywords and then hope to find something), but I will use you method to find more interesting information.
But the solution i found have i got from a standaard google-search (and not by using the search-engin van HP) by using the keywords "gloria synergy resolution". The second hit (at google.com) is the one i showed to you all.
But nevertheless, thanks.

Eric
Author RE: higer resolution possible voor gloria synergy?
R Price
Member

Posts: 36
Location: Canada
Joined: 09.12.10
Posted on January 14 2011 05:10
Per normal web practice I was looking for something else (I cannot remember what) and stumbled across this thread, which I assume is completely un-related to what I was originally looking for. Whatever, the info provided was useful and I was able to change my display resolution from 1024x768 to 1280x1024, which looks much better given this is the native resolution of my monitor.

Just for kicks I hooked up my 24" HP LCD and tried 1920x1200. This also works perfectly.

I'm running a 64 MB Radeon 7000 of unknown origin in my DS10. I have no idea who the manufacturer/vendor is but it is compatible with OpenVMS. If anyone is scouring ebay looking for a graphic card the Part Number to look for is 102-85503-01.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive