Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,168
Newest Member: davej
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author Alpha 1000 4/266
mwheeler
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 29.05.10
Posted on May 31 2010 00:07
Hi guys, I'm new here

I just got 3 Alpha 1000 4/266 servers. So far two will fire up into SRM and one won't display anything on the LCD display or the VGA. I've tried re seating the CPU card, swapping the ram around, trying tho on board and off board VGA, and removing the network cards. Still no success. Anymore ideas guys. I don't really mind if I don't get it working because I can always use it as a parts machine.

I hope to get the others working as a cluster and allow public access. I'm just awaiting HDDs so I can actually install OpenVMS.

I don't know a lot about OpenVMS, so I might be asking a lot of nooby questions here smiley.
Author RE: Alpha 1000 4/266
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on May 31 2010 23:09
If you attach something to the serial console on port 1 (9 pin D type on the back) then should see something.
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author RE: Alpha 1000 4/266
mwheeler
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 29.05.10
Posted on June 01 2010 03:09
9600 8N1?
Author RE: Alpha 1000 4/266
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on June 02 2010 03:06
yes. That is the usual
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author RE: Alpha 1000 4/266
mwheeler
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 29.05.10
Posted on June 03 2010 12:35
It appears I have no cables and moving my PC down stairs to check it is a lot of work. I'll try and get the other two running first.
Author RE: Alpha 1000 4/266
urbancamo
Member

Posts: 38
Location: Windermere, UK
Joined: 16.05.07
Posted on June 26 2010 21:36
The graphics card built in to the 1000A will not work - I can't remember the exact scenario, but when I looked into this a while ago the configuration was unsupported - you'll need a separate PCI graphics card.

Bonkers that the hardware is supplied but you can't make use of it, but there you go!

Mark.
http://www.wickensonline.co.uk
Author RE: Alpha 1000 4/266
urbancamo
Member

Posts: 38
Location: Windermere, UK
Joined: 16.05.07
Posted on June 26 2010 21:37
Having actually read the original message, the LCD display should show diagnostics on boot up, you just won't get anything on a monitor plugged into the VGA port.
http://www.wickensonline.co.uk
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive