Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSaturday, October 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author SCSI disk going offline
pfau
Member

Posts: 33
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on August 09 2011 14:22
One of my SCSI drives keeps going offline. When I connect to the system I find the drive in mount verification timeout. I can dismount the drive but any attempt to do anything with it results in "medium is offline", including attempting to access it with rztools. There are no errors logged against the device.

The disk comes back if I reboot the system but after having a few failures a couple of weeks apart it has now failed twice today.

Does anyone have any ideas of how I might be able to figure out why it's going offline?
http://nbpfaus.net/~pfau/
Author RE: SCSI disk going offline
pfau
Member

Posts: 33
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on August 09 2011 16:01
I may have figured it out. I opened the system to check connections and ended up pulling the drives out. The top of this particular drive was very hot. I moved it to another bay where it could get some more airflow across it. I did some searching on Google and it appears page 13 (0x0d) of the log sense data may be temperature data. If that's true, the drive is operating very close to its cutoff temperature. I put a fan in front of the system where it will draw air out of the case across the top of the drive. According to rztools, it's cooling off.
http://nbpfaus.net/~pfau/
Author RE: SCSI disk going offline
pfau
Member

Posts: 33
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on August 10 2011 07:54
Well, not quite fixed. I just checked on the system and the disk is down again.
http://nbpfaus.net/~pfau/
Author RE: SCSI disk going offline
somersdave
Member

Posts: 63
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on August 11 2011 06:46
I believe it's quite warm in NE USA at the moment

Someone with lots of Alpha experience told me to fit 'blanking panels' (don't know the correct term) over the unused disk drive slots ( for the 'bricks' ) in order to maintain air flow, rather than blowing it straight out of the machine.

I've been running my Alpha4000 continuously at about 380 W ( without monitor ) and the system temp. gets to a maximum of about 30 deg. C. (system shutdown 51 deg. C) The 4100 (4 CPU) takes nearly 800 watts.
Edited by somersdave on August 11 2011 06:48
Author RE: SCSI disk going offline
pfau
Member

Posts: 33
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on August 11 2011 16:42
My system is a PWS 600au. The disks are mounted internally, not in an expansion cabinet. The box doesn't have a whole lot of airflow through it. There's a fan on the processor that blows air across the CPU and out the front. There's another fan in the power supply. I think that's it. I have to try to get some more fans in the case. There's not much air flow across the drives at all.
http://nbpfaus.net/~pfau/
Author RE: SCSI disk going offline
somersdave
Member

Posts: 63
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on August 12 2011 06:44
This MIGHT be of of use when monitoring some systems - I found more info. was returned when logged in as SYSTEM. Found on the web courtesy of one Scott Belviso.

$ ty enviro.com
$! Program: ENV_CHECK.COM
$!
$! Purpose: Gathers and displays the state of the internal
$! Fans/Temperature/Thermal/Power Supplies of the system. Not all systems
$! are capable of reporting this information so the output will be
$! different for each type. Some systems can't report any.
$!
$! History:
$! Scott Belviso 02/07/03 - Original Creation
$!
$! Paramaters:
$! none
$!
$! Run instructions:
$! @env_check
$!
$!
$ thermal_ctr = 0
$ thermal_size = 2
$ thermal_length = 32
$ fan_ctr = 0
$ fan_size = 2
$ fan_length = 32
$ temp_ctr = 0
$ temp_size = 2
$ temp_length = 32
$ power_ctr = 0
$ power_size = 2
$ power_length = 32
$ tv = f$getsyi("thermal_vector"smiley
$ fv = f$getsyi("fan_vector"smiley
$ temp_v = f$getsyi("temperature_vector"smiley
$ pv = f$getsyi("power_vector"smiley
$!
$! Main
$!
$main:
$ gosub thermal_loop
$ gosub fan_loop
$ gosub temp_loop
$ gosub power_loop
$ goto done
$!
$! Begin subroutines
$!
$thermal_loop:
$ thermal_ctr = thermal_ctr + 1
$ if thermal_ctr * thermal_size .gt. thermal_length then return
$ thermal'thermal_ctr = -
f$extract(thermal_length - (thermal_size * thermal_ctr),thermal_size,tv)
$ if thermal'thermal_ctr .eqs. "01" -
then write sys$output "Thermal ''thermal_ctr' is Good"
$ if thermal'thermal_ctr .eqs. "00" -
then write sys$output "Thermal ''thermal_ctr' is BAD"
$! if thermal'thermal_ctr .eqs. "FF" -
$! then write sys$output "Thermal ''thermal_ctr' is Not Present"
$ goto thermal_loop
$!
$fan_loop:
$ fan_ctr = fan_ctr + 1
$ if fan_ctr * fan_size .gt. fan_length then return
$ fan'fan_ctr = f$extract(fan_length - (fan_size * fan_ctr),fan_size,fv)
$ if fan'fan_ctr .eqs. "01" -
then write sys$output "FAN ''fan_ctr' is Good"
$ if fan'fan_ctr .eqs. "00" -
then write sys$output "FAN ''fan_ctr' is BAD"
$! if fan'fan_ctr .eqs. "FF" -
$! then write sys$output "FAN ''fan_ctr' is Not Present"
$ goto fan_loop
$!
$temp_loop:
$ temp_ctr = temp_ctr + 1
$ if temp_ctr * temp_size .gt. temp_length then return
$ temp'temp_ctr = -
f$extract(temp_length - (temp_size * temp_ctr),temp_size,temp_v)
$ if temp'temp_ctr .nes. "FF"
$ then
$ actual_temp = temp'temp_ctr
$ actual_temp = %x'actual_temp
$ write sys$output "Temp ''temp_ctr' is ''actual_temp' Celsius"
$ endif
$ goto temp_loop
$!
$power_loop:
$ power_ctr = power_ctr + 1
$ if power_ctr * power_size .gt. power_length then return
$ power'power_ctr = -
f$extract(power_length - (power_size * power_ctr),power_size,pv)
$ if power'power_ctr .eqs. "01" -
then write sys$output "Power Supply ''power_ctr' is Good"
$ if power'power_ctr .eqs. "00" -
then write sys$output "Power Supply ''power_ctr' is BAD"
$! if power'power_ctr .eqs. "FF" -
$! then write sys$output "Power Supply ''power_ctr' is Not Present"
$ goto power_loop
$!
$done:
$ exit

output for the alpha 4000

$ @enviro
Thermal 1 is Good
FAN 1 is Good
FAN 2 is Good
Temp 1 is 24 Celsius
Power Supply 1 is Good
Power Supply 3 is Good
$
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive