Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, March 27, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 7
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
anton

Posted on January 16 2013 16:52
Hi Everyone,

I'm just starting out and interested in setting up a two node cluster that shares resources and boot drive using only a couple of DS10's w/ SCSI controllers and a BA356 (JBOD). Here are my questions.

1. First is this even possible? I looked at one of the Golden Eggs docs for a DS15 and didn't see anything that would suggest it can't be done on a DS10. Also I plan on using one of the network interfaces for the interconnect.

2. Is there anything special/proprietary about the Y-SCSI adapters which are needed? This is the part I'm missing. The cable I'm talking about is "BN21W-0B".

3. With two SCSI initiating devices on same BUS is there anything special I need to do? Like settings in the SRM?

Thanks to all,

anton
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
reinhardtjh

Posted on January 17 2013 00:36
Hi Anton!

Welcome to the wonderful world of SCSI clustering. One thing that would help would be an inventory of the parts you do have - scsi adapters, BA356, cables. Pay particular attention to the model/part numbers. They can vary slightly and *do* make a difference.