Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, July 18, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,165
Newest Member: ozzievini
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
anton
Member

Posts: 6
Location: US, Massachusetts
Joined: 25.06.11
Posted on January 16 2013 16:52
Hi Everyone,

I'm just starting out and interested in setting up a two node cluster that shares resources and boot drive using only a couple of DS10's w/ SCSI controllers and a BA356 (JBOD). Here are my questions.

1. First is this even possible? I looked at one of the Golden Eggs docs for a DS15 and didn't see anything that would suggest it can't be done on a DS10. Also I plan on using one of the network interfaces for the interconnect.

2. Is there anything special/proprietary about the Y-SCSI adapters which are needed? This is the part I'm missing. The cable I'm talking about is "BN21W-0B".

3. With two SCSI initiating devices on same BUS is there anything special I need to do? Like settings in the SRM?

Thanks to all,

anton
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
reinhardtjh
Member

Posts: 30
Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on January 17 2013 00:36
Hi Anton!

Welcome to the wonderful world of SCSI clustering. One thing that would help would be an inventory of the parts you do have - scsi adapters, BA356, cables. Pay particular attention to the model/part numbers. They can vary slightly and *do* make a difference.

If you don't have it, download the "StorageWorks UltraSCSI Configuration Guidelines" manual EK-ULTRA-CG.C01 You can find it on the web. It lists pertinent part numbers and in the back are diagrams of different configurations. I would assume you are setting up something like Config #4 on page 17. It looks like Config #3 on page 16 might also work for you but I've never done it that way.

To answer your specific questions:

1) Yes, it can be done. I've done it with Alphaserver 800's and 1200's. SCSI would be your storage interconnect and ethernet would be the cluster interconnect. Works fine although I'd recommend dedicating a NIC in each host and connecting them with a crossover ethernet cable. That way a switch/hub failure can't cause the cluster to freeze.

2) As far as I know, the BN21W-0B is just a Y connector. Nothing special. But you do need them... Unless you can get a H8861-AA HVD-Trilink connector which can do the same thing. I see them on ebay much cheaper than the BN21W. The problem is, they may not fit on the back of the DS10. They are not huge, but they are bulky.

3) Nothing special except that one SCSI HBA has to be set for address 7 and the other for Address 6. They also have to be differential and not single-ended HBA. This is what lets them drive the same bus and not step on each other. The address is set in the SRM.

This should get you started.

John H. Reinhardt
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
reinhardtjh
Member

Posts: 30
Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on January 17 2013 00:46

BTW http://manx.classiccmp.org/ is a good source for DEC manuals.

John H. Reinhardt
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
anton
Member

Posts: 6
Location: US, Massachusetts
Joined: 25.06.11
Posted on January 17 2013 07:00
Thanks John. Sometime back I yanked out what I believe is actually one of the Smartarray controllers. In addition to that there are 2 x SCSI HBA's install and an extra NIC card. I'll do an inventory tonight and return with a parts list. Thanks again.


- anton
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
anton
Member

Posts: 6
Location: US, Massachusetts
Joined: 25.06.11
Posted on January 17 2013 16:54
Hi John,

I did an inventory and it looks like everything is unfortunately single-ended. The only one I'm not sure of is the RAID controller. I couldn't seem to find any specs on this thing, but I'm guessing its SE. Do you know?

Systems:
1 x Mylex Single Channel RAID Controller KZPAC-XD <- ????
2 x PCI Single Channel SCSI Controllers KZPBA-CX
1 x Dual 10/100 NIC 010312-000

Storage:
1 x BA356 shelf with a BA35X-FA personality module.

Cables:
2 x VHDCI SCSI cables 313374-003

Studying the document you referred me to looks like I may have some options, but not without parts. I'll have to check around. Until then I'll familiarize myself with volume shadowing and explore LAN clusters. Thanks again for your help.

- anton
Edited by anton on January 17 2013 17:00
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 97
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on January 18 2013 00:48
I used a DEGPA-SA card for the cluster interconnect in my DS10s. I left the SCSI for disk traffic only. If you get these from a reseller, you may be able to get a "test" cable for free which is a few meters long. Assuming that the units are close together, this works well.

Dan
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
reinhardtjh
Member

Posts: 30
Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on January 18 2013 03:55
Anton,

You are correct about the RAID controller, it is single ended and not supported for cluster storage. You can use it to hang drives locally then MSCP serve them to other hosts in the cluster though so it's not a total loss.

If you still have the SmartArray card(s), they are a better choice. I'm assuming it's a 5300A or a 6400. There was a 3200 but I don't think it worked under VMS. The Mylex is quite old, slow and quirky - ie. no individual drives bigger than 9GB and a RAID set can't be bigger than either 32GB or 36GB (IIRC)

The 2 KZPBA-CX are the right SCSI HBA but if I remember correctly, you have to look on the board itself to see if it is the -CA single ended or the -CB differential version. I've only used the -CB version in clustering. But the UltraSCSI doc configuration #3 seems to say that if you have the BA35X-FB dual-port SE personality module you can connect one host to each side and share one shelf. That would limit you to 6 drives, but that's not too bad.

Otherwise you need the differential setup described in config #4.

John
Edited by reinhardtjh on January 18 2013 04:16
Author RE: DS10 and BA356 (JBOD) hardware/cluster questions
anton
Member

Posts: 6
Location: US, Massachusetts
Joined: 25.06.11
Posted on January 18 2013 13:21
Thanks guys for your input... I definitely have a SE setup on my end so I will have to hold off on the shared storage idea for the time being. I'll hunt down the parts needed to convert my setup from SE to DIFF.

I have the array connected to one of my servers which will permit me to learn how to manage and use attached storage in OpenVMS. I'm sure I'll have more questions. smiley


Cheers,
- anton
Edited by anton on January 18 2013 13:21
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive