Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, April 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,098
Newest Member: amacmahon
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on February 03 2007 10:44
Hi Folks,

I need to update disk firmware on my PWS433au. I do not have the "proper" CD (since all the newer CD's no longer contain the proper FW update). My only (practical) alternative seems to be a BOOTP-served FW from a UNIX (TRU64?) box.

I'm wondering if the FW can be BOOTP-"served" from a Linux box (has anyone actually done this?)

MOP is not an option, since I have no other VMS gear on my home LAN. I've never used the floppy disk on this circa-1998 system, so I'm not even sure it would work (never mind the fact that I have no blank floppies, nor do I want to purchase them just for this "exercise"smiley.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author Re: BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 05 2007 08:22
[quote:2468c601be="brad"]Hi Folks,

I need to update disk firmware on my PWS433au. I do not have the "proper" CD (since all the newer CD's no longer contain the proper FW update). My only (practical) alternative seems to be a BOOTP-served FW from a UNIX (TRU64?) box.

I'm wondering if the FW can be BOOTP-"served" from a Linux box (has anyone actually done this?)

MOP is not an option, since I have no other VMS gear on my home LAN. I've never used the floppy disk on this circa-1998 system, so I'm not even sure it would work (never mind the fact that I have no blank floppies, nor do I want to purchase them just for this "exercise"smiley.[/quote:2468c601be]

This page lists gives some instructions on this, specifically section 5.8.3. Other sections are useful since they provide a dhcpd.conf definition for setting up a BOOTP boot server for an Alpha.

http://www.faqs.org/docs/Linux-HOWTO/SRM-HOWTO.html#DHCP-AND-BOOTPD-SERVER-SETUP
Author
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on February 05 2007 15:56
Thanks, David!
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author Re: BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on February 10 2007 09:23
[quote:334d13e11f="HobbyistOne"]
[...]
This page lists gives some instructions on this, specifically section 5.8.3. Other sections are useful since they provide a dhcpd.conf definition for setting up a BOOTP boot server for an Alpha.

http://www.faqs.org/docs/Linux-HOWTO/SRM-HOWTO.html#DHCP-AND-BOOTPD-SERVER-SETUP[/quote:334d13e11f]

One final question, for anyone out there -

I've set up bootpd on my Linux laptop as described in the link above, and I "downloaded" the .exe from HP onto my linux laptop via my Firefox web browser.

Do I need to worry about whether or not the file was transferred "correctly", (i.e., as if I did a binary FTP transfer) or am I just a worry-wart? :-)
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 10 2007 09:52
I think the firmware loader checksums itself, so you should be okay.
Author
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on March 04 2007 14:07
Just an update for those of you who might be considering this method of bootstrapping firmware:

- I needed to add "-p bootp" to the console boot command; otherwise, the boot command assumes MOP as the default protocol.

- The systems connected with each other, and the PWS console "saw" that there was a boot file to be loaded; however, every load request ended with "bootstrap failure". I tried stopping/restarting bootpd, changing file permissions on the firmware executable and /tftpboot - none of these changes made a bit of difference. Perhaps the executable downloaded from HP was somehow bad.

In any case, if anyone has a spare firmware CD, around the V7.2 "timeframe", and could burn a copy for me, I would greatly appreciate it!

bradhamilton -at- comcast net (you know how to fix this address).
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on April 15 2009 11:54
So, has anyone ever gotten this to work? I'm trying to upgrade the firmware in a DS10, which currently has only 6-1. It's easy enough to get the 7-3 files from HP, but finding a way to install them is frustrating.

I've tried setting up BOOTP on a Linux station. The DS10 does contact the Linux host, because inetd starts the bootpd. However, whether I specify the file name to the DS10 console or only in the /etc/bootptab file on Linux, it never gets sent.

So I switched to the floppy disk method. Created and verified the three FAT disks required using a Windows XP workstation. No luck with that either, as LFU on the Alpha just complains that it can't find the file on the DVA0 device. The floppy drive itself seems to be OK, as I can read and write when there is an OS booted up on the machine, but SRM/LFU isn't happy with it for some reason.

CDs are apparently unavailable.

I don't have another VMS system to use MOP with.

And the VMS system disk on the DS10 is formatted in ODS-5, of course, so I can't load the firmware from there. This is a new install of VMS, so I could redo it and format the system disk in ODS-2, but given the experience so far, I'm reluctant to go through all that only to have it fail as well.
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Author RE: BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on April 16 2009 00:42
I certainly agree that using a CD is preferable. The problem was that using HP's support site, I couldn't find the downloadable CD image. They even have a detailed page with instructions for each of the other methods I listed above, and each method has a direct link to the downloadable files needed, but they omit the possibility of just burning a CD. They don't even drop a hint that you could use ODS-formatted floppy diskettes in this situation, either.

BOOTP really ought to do the job, but they obviously have left out too many details.

Now that you've provided a path to the necessary CD image, I'll try that route probably this morning.

This does bring up a nagging concern I've had for a while. HP is undoubtedly going to cut off all "official" support for the Alpha hardware before too much longer, yet they have bound up all these needed files and documents with "do not distribute" agreements and licenses like the one attached to this particular CD image. Where does that leave all of us if they just erase this material from their web servers without giving any permission for someone else to archive and distribute it?

A strong hobbyist group can do a lot to preserve and disseminate this information, and your own Hoffman Labs site is a fine example. Another good example is the support for the Tandy/Radio Shack Model 100 and 102 portable laptop computers, which is going strong 25 years after the machines were introduced. But we have to somehow gain the right to preserve and distribute all these supporting files and documents legally. (The Model 100 group succeeded in getting that for much of the Model 100 software, with the result that new peripherals and expansions for those old machines are still being introduced today.)
Edited by Altivo on April 16 2009 00:54
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Author RE: BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on April 16 2009 05:19
Right as usual, and thanks. The CD did the job smoothly and without a hitch. Now VMS 8.3 will quit complaining that the SRM firmware is too old.

I double checked by going to the HP instruction page referred to at the top of your helpful instructions, and it is the same page I was looking at yesterday. It makes no mention at all of updating from a CD, or that you can download the CD image to create a copy for the purpose. Nor does it say that you can use an ODS formatted floppy diskette to boot from and perform the update (though I agree that a CD is probably safer.)
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Author RE: BOOTP for Alpha firmware from a Linux box?
mwheeler
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 29.05.10
Posted on May 30 2010 23:57
I just acquired 3x Alpha 1000 4/266 boxes and found this page while googling. Thought I'd come back and update this on how I updated the SRM firmware using BOOTP.

Download the BOOTP firmware from HP. Place it in a folder accessible by a TFTP server. I renamed mine as alpha to make it easier.

I followed http://tldp.org/HOWTO/PA-RISC-Linux-Boot-HOWTO/bootnetwork.html on configuring BOOTP on debian. Main point is 4.3.5.2 of that article.

This is the bootptab config I used

aliminium:hd=/:\
:rp=/:\
:ht=ethernet:\
:ha=MAC:\
:ip=172.28.3.9:\
:bf=alpha:\
:sm=255.255.255.0:\
:to=7200:



172.28.3.9 needs to be replaced with the IP you want the Alpha to be, MAC is the MAC address of the alpha and alpha is the file name.


On a Cisco switch/router it is easiest to use below to allow bootp to work over different subnets. IP address is your BOOTP server.
ip helper-address 172.28.1.251




I attempted to setup BOOTP on a Cisco 3550 but appears it has to grab the file off the same address as the BOOTP server.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

Shoutbox Archive