Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, March 19, 2018
Hobby Wear
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,058
Newest Member: Bytesurfer
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author how to access cd rom in vms

Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.07
Posted on June 02 2007 05:22
can anyone tell me how to access the cd rom in vms...
my cd rom is dka400
i need the command to access the floppy drive also
my floppy drive is comming as dka200
i used mc pcdisk for the floppy disk but it says device offline
now i found that m y floppy is dka200
so pls tell me how to access both .......
its urgent friends
Author re: to floppy drive problem

Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.07
Posted on June 02 2007 19:40
actually i wana load some graphics using my floppy drive
but the floppy drive which is directly connected to the motherboard is always remaining green light on and when i use the its says dva0 error...
actually it was working fine for yesterday...but for some reason failed
then i have another floppy drive which can be connected to the external scsi cable for which i have asked the commands to access it.....
i wana load graphics using this drive
Author reply

Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.07
Posted on June 07 2007 03:24
im using an alpha station 255mhz
and conductor vms 3.1
do u have some solution for the floppy drive that i directly connect to the
alpha motherboard through ribbon cable. i mentioned before that it remains green only..and u r telling that it will damage the drive.....
after your info i tried changing the ribbon cable which has a tag marking the drive end and the controller end. but still the light remains green now also.
do u mean that my floppy drive is burned now,
but i tried using it on a normal pc and it is working also
u r suggestions appreciated...

Posts: 4
Location: UK
Joined: 08.02.07
Posted on June 07 2007 08:54
Um... Alpha station 255mhz and VMS 3.1 don't match...
If it is really an Alphastation 255, the possible versions are V1.0, V1.5, V6.0 and (probably) everything later than that (I have not checked the SPD to see if support for this box has been dropped from current versions).
If VMS 3.1 is correct, then the box HAS to be a very old VAX...
I tend to believe the machine identity rather than the software version, as I do not recall any VAX old enough to run V3.1 having a CD device.
Could it be OpenVMS V7.3-1 ?
In addition to what has been reported before, another option for your CD is
From VMS Help, "This qualifier instructs the mount subsystem to attempt to mount a volume assuming the media to be ISO 9660 (or High Sierra) formatted."

As for your floppy drive, I have found that there are some floppy devices that work in a PC, but don't in some of the older Alpha's. I never found a reason why. Anyway, if the floppy media is readable on a PC, then your only option is PCdisk. OTOH, If a PC claims that the media is not formatted then it just might be ODS2.
Jump to Forum:


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?



You must login to vote.
You must login to post a message.

February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis

September 10 2017
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?

August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Shoutbox Archive