Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesTuesday, September 18, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,202
Newest Member: cliff0fleming
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author how to access cd rom in vms
sanu
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.07
Posted on June 02 2007 05:22
can anyone tell me how to access the cd rom in vms...
my cd rom is dka400
i need the command to access the floppy drive also
my floppy drive is comming as dka200
i used mc pcdisk for the floppy disk but it says device offline
now i found that m y floppy is dka200
so pls tell me how to access both .......
its urgent friends
Author re: to floppy drive problem
sanu
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.07
Posted on June 02 2007 19:40
actually i wana load some graphics using my floppy drive
but the floppy drive which is directly connected to the motherboard is always remaining green light on and when i use the its says dva0 error...
actually it was working fine for yesterday...but for some reason failed
then i have another floppy drive which can be connected to the external scsi cable for which i have asked the commands to access it.....
i wana load graphics using this drive
Author reply
sanu
Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 20.03.07
Posted on June 07 2007 03:24
im using an alpha station 255mhz
and conductor vms 3.1
do u have some solution for the floppy drive that i directly connect to the
alpha motherboard through ribbon cable. i mentioned before that it remains green only..and u r telling that it will damage the drive.....
after your info i tried changing the ribbon cable which has a tag marking the drive end and the controller end. but still the light remains green now also.
do u mean that my floppy drive is burned now,
but i tried using it on a normal pc and it is working also
u r suggestions appreciated...
Author
JonTrv
Member

Posts: 4
Location: UK
Joined: 08.02.07
Posted on June 07 2007 08:54
Um... Alpha station 255mhz and VMS 3.1 don't match...
If it is really an Alphastation 255, the possible versions are V1.0, V1.5, V6.0 and (probably) everything later than that (I have not checked the SPD to see if support for this box has been dropped from current versions).
If VMS 3.1 is correct, then the box HAS to be a very old VAX...
I tend to believe the machine identity rather than the software version, as I do not recall any VAX old enough to run V3.1 having a CD device.
Could it be OpenVMS V7.3-1 ?
In addition to what has been reported before, another option for your CD is
$ MOUNT/MEDIA_FORMAT=CDROM
From VMS Help, "This qualifier instructs the mount subsystem to attempt to mount a volume assuming the media to be ISO 9660 (or High Sierra) formatted."

As for your floppy drive, I have found that there are some floppy devices that work in a PC, but don't in some of the older Alpha's. I never found a reason why. Anyway, if the floppy media is readable on a PC, then your only option is PCdisk. OTOH, If a PC claims that the media is not formatted then it just might be ODS2.
http://www.travell.uk.net
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive