Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 15, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,161
Newest Member: matt8588
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author What hardware I need to setup a quorum disk?
Kenashkov
Member

Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Joined: 02.01.06
Posted on June 10 2007 22:48
Two days ago I configured my two alphas at home in LAN cluster and works fine. But I would be happy to have a quorum disk. I think I will manage to configure it (openvms docs are good) but first I need to set it up in hardware.
The setup is as follows:
PWS600a with added NCR53810 from one side
AS1200 with Mylex DAC960 (KZPSC) and inetrnal NCR53810.

What I tried up to the moment is to connect one HDD to the NCR on the Alpha and on the other side - to the KZPSC. In that config the disk is seen from both machines. I reconfigured the KZPSC with the RCU and added it. But when both machines are up the KZPSC has problems with the shared drive - takes too long to initialize the RCU, problems with formatting (took 2 hours for 2G drive?!) ...
In the other way (NCR - disk - NCR) AS does not sees the drive at all (in all scenarios I power up first PWS and then AS).

I decided to stop trying before I damage the hardware and ask - is it possible with the current hardware to set up a quorum (shared on SCSI bus) disk? Of course I know that probably nobody has the same config to say definetly yes or no, but any comments and success/failure stories are welcome.

And what hardware do I need for cluster over SCSI? For that probably I need devices that support both initiator and target mode? Which host controllers are OK for that?

P.S. actually I found this table:
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/82FINAL/6318/6318pro_021.html#hardware_table
But I anticipated more hardware to be supported...

Vesselin Kenashkov
109218396 http://azonmedia.com
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on June 11 2007 00:07
Ensure that your two alphas have different SCSI id. Check the pk*host_id environment variable at the consoles.

Ensure the termination is correct. If the scsi card you are using does not have an internal bus terminator (often can been seen as a line of resistors on the card) then you need to add termination using a Y connector.
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author
Kenashkov
Member

Posts: 28
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Joined: 02.01.06
Posted on June 11 2007 01:38
Ahh - I checked that the ID of the drive is free for both controllers, but I forgot that the two controllers may have same ID themselves :lol:
So basically there is no specific requirement for the controller, just to ensure termination & IDs.
Thanks smiley
109218396 http://azonmedia.com
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive