Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, January 23, 2019
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,250
Newest Member: decourl
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author SmartRAID in an Alphaserver ES40 - how to configure
kthelen
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 17.12.07
Posted on December 17 2007 16:00
Hello all!

A couple days ago I scored a used ES40 for next to nothing. It had 2GB of RAM, two processors, and one 18GB hard drive (presumably a node in a cluster). So I dragged it home, did the prereq-type reading (here, Encompass, etc), and ordered the latest media kit (8.3).

Suffice it to say that getting the beast going was a bit of a chore, given this is my first such machine. There were various parts in the unit that had been messed with, removed, or replaced with bad ones. In the end I wound up with one processor and 1GB of RAM, and no more errors on the console smiley

I did manage to boot from the hobbyist CD I recieved, but it didn't take long to realize that the hard drive/array was missing from the list of target devices.

After doing some research, it turns out my SCSI controller is a DPT SmartRAID Millennium (PM3755U2smiley. Being ex-government, I'd assume the config in the controller was obliterated as part of the data cleansing process.

Now, if this was an x86 machine I'd just whip out the SmartStart disc and/or hold down the appropriate keys, and get configuring the SCSI controller. But being as it's not, I'm not sure how to proceed.

Any advice?



- Keith
Author
kthelen
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 17.12.07
Posted on December 18 2007 05:46
This controller was OEM, and had Compaq labelling on it. I'm not near the box this morning else I'd give more details, but I do know it had a "spares" number on it (from which I found the real make and model).

I don't know if this Alpha was used with VMS or Tru64 in its past life - I'd assume VMS from the sound of things, but I really don't know.

It wouldn't be the end of the world if I couldn't use this card with OpenVMS, since it is said to work on x86 and Sun machines as well (so I could re-use it elsewhere). But if I had to go with another card, what would be a good bet? Non-RAID would be fine for my purposes.

I may just try experimenting later with some other cards I have laying around (Adaptec non-RAID PCI boards; various Compaq and IBM RAID cards pulled from Intel-based servers), assuming it can do no harm.

Will post more details this afternoon...
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive