Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, January 27, 2022
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 1
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,623
Newest Member: alleahmarcina30
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author ALPHA 4000 SERVER CONSOLE MONITOR
somersdave
Member

Posts: 67
Location: bristol,UK
Joined: 23.03.07
Posted on April 02 2008 05:51
Hi All, Thanks for any help so far (recently upgrading Firmware and configuring RAID 5).

I recently received the Hobbyist OpenVMS 8.3 CD.

The Op. Sys. Installed (along with some layered products, inc. MOTIF) and booted successfully and I was able to log in as SYSTEM. I then typed in the Op. Sys. and MOTIF license command information with checksum (as emailed) which appeared to be accepted.

I now have a problem that when i rebooted the machine after 'shutdown' the reboot does not complete, fully. (the blue screen is wiped and goes to black and the monitor LEDs flash in unison) (NB rebooting the limited system worked fine before licensing took place)

The problem appears to be incompatibility between the Alpha 4000 and the HP D2828A PC type VGA monitor, i'm using.

I read that the console monitor needs to be a serial device, so i used the command "SET CONSOLE SERIAL" with INIT prior to boot but then i don't even reach the CONTINUE option before the black screen appears.

It seems a matter of checking BAUD rate etc. and setting VT100 mode but I'm not sure of of how to go about this.?????? - or is it simply not possible to use the PC monitor?

I'd be grateful for any advice though i seem to be getting tantalisingly near having a working system (assuming the text editor will work when rebooted and i believe i need to unzip FORTRAN, etc to load from the CD)

dave smith, bristol, UK
Author RE: ALPHA 4000 SERVER CONSOLE MONITOR
ADKMicroVAX
Member

Posts: 7
Location: Upstate NY
Joined: 03.01.08
Posted on April 24 2008 15:33
Interesting... I would expect that the AS4000 would drive pretty much any VGA monitor... setting the console to serial is most certainly not going to fix your problem because now the system expects the operator console to be a terminal/pc connected to the 9 pin serial port A. Switch it back to graphics mode and make sure your firmware is up to date.


ThinkSnow!
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

Shoutbox Archive