Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, July 22, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,168
Newest Member: davej
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author Personal Workstation 533au
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on January 01 2009 07:26
Hello,

Recently, my workstation crashed. Looks like some memory error. When the unit powers up the on-board diagnostic LEDs indicate some type of address line problem. Have OpenVMS V8.3A running for some time with no problems and with 1.5GB of memory. In addition to this blessing or curse, the battery died. The unit came up in the other AlphaStation mode for NT and noticed that the memory test there stalled at some point in the test. I reconfigured (and reduced to 512MB ) the memory so that the self-test passes with no errors. When I switch to SRM the LEDs still indicate some address line problem, but OpenVMS seems to run OK. What could be causing this problem of address lines when the thing seem to work OK. What is the correct memory for this machine? PC-100 ECC UNbuffered?

Thank you and a Happy New Year to you all.

Gerry
smiley
Edited by GerryB on January 01 2009 07:30
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on January 02 2009 14:42
GerryB wrote:
Hello,

Recently, my workstation crashed. Looks like some memory error. When the unit powers up the on-board diagnostic LEDs indicate some type of address line problem. Have OpenVMS V8.3A running for some time with no problems and with 1.5GB of memory. In addition to this blessing or curse, the battery died. The unit came up in the other AlphaStation mode for NT and noticed that the memory test there stalled at some point in the test. I reconfigured (and reduced to 512MB ) the memory so that the self-test passes with no errors. When I switch to SRM the LEDs still indicate some address line problem, but OpenVMS seems to run OK. What could be causing this problem of address lines when the thing seem to work OK. What is the correct memory for this machine? PC-100 ECC UNbuffered?
[...]


Hi Gerry,

Here's a copy of the service manual:

<http://rabbit.dnsalias.org/~bradh/miata/Service/>

Info about the battery and memory may be found there - the manual is silent about the type of memory, except that it must be ECC. Islandco.com sells PWS memory.

I have a PWS 433au, and even though it is quite underpowered, it's still a nice machine to work on, as are all the PWS. Good luck.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on January 06 2009 13:41
Thanks for the info, however, I have that info already. I'm thinking that it doesn't like registered (buffered) memory. The diagnostic LEDs still report E4 even though it runs OK. If I add more memory, however, I get occasional freezes. Do you think a re-flash of the SRM would help or would I get some other (like a checksum) indication that something was wrong?

If I could just get OpenVMS V8.3-1H1 for Integrity (Itanium) I wouldn't have to worry so much about the Alpha.

Thanks again.

Gerry
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on January 07 2009 15:05
After some searching, I found a reference which said that this memory is unregistered, and PC66.
I can't vouch for the accuracy of what I found, except that I came up with the information from a Google search for " SN-MSP01-HF". It seems to tally with your suspicions, so good luck. I'm thinking that this memory, if still available, is likely to be cheapest on eBay, and probably relatively expensive from any of the 3rd-party resellers.

I bought mine at the turn of the century from Crucial, but they (and others of their kind) no longer stock parts like this.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on January 24 2009 16:48
I was just wondering if anyone has ever tried putting 512MB sticks into a XXXau personal workstation? I've seen other systems that give a maximum memory stick size but sometimes accept a bigger stick. Anyone know if will work?

If you know, please let me know. Thanks.

Gerry
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on February 07 2009 10:30
Today, I stuck two 256MB PC100 ECC UNBUFF sticks in the PWS 533. Works fine but I still get error "E4" in the LEDs. Works fine though. I was going to re-flash the SRM for the hell of it but I can't seem to find the firmware. Anyone have a link?

Thanks.

Gerry
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on February 07 2009 15:46
GerryB wrote:
Today, I stuck two 256MB PC100 ECC UNBUFF sticks in the PWS 533. Works fine but I still get error "E4" in the LEDs. Works fine though. I was going to re-flash the SRM for the hell of it but I can't seem to find the firmware. Anyone have a link?

Thanks.

Gerry


Try this page:

<http://h18002.www1.hp.com/alphaserver/firmware/readme.html>

You'll obviously have to supply the Workstation model, but you will be brought to a page that has the executable needed. Good luck!
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Personal Workstation 533au
GerryB
Member

Posts: 24
Location: Florida
Joined: 26.06.08
Posted on February 08 2009 15:20
Thanks for the link. System re-flashed. Error code E4 still prevails. It still runs OK but I guess I'll be on the lookout for a system board. Even better, I'd like a small tower DS20E dual CPU. And of course, my RX2600 would love to be running OpenVMS too.

Thanks again.

Gerry
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive