Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, June 24, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,146
Newest Member: bhamakripa
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author problem sendin output to printer
Edgar Estrada
Member

Posts: 2
Location: Puerto Rico
Joined: 11.06.09
Posted on June 11 2009 05:19
hi, i had problem printin form disk to printer.
Compaq TCP/IP Services for OpenVMS Alpha Version V5.1 - ECO 3
on a AlphaServer 8200 5/440 running OpenVMS V7.2-2, ok
i create printer "init-xxx.xxx.:xxxx" thas is working fine, so we had an app to print checks, th command delete the que so he donk know were to print looking around i foud somo one with the same problem ahd he create a lta port and then spooled the port to the printer i did that but when i tri to print the cheks i get these error " LISTO PARA IMPRESION DE CHEQUES
%COB-F-WRITE_ERROR, ERROR DURING WRITE ON FILE LTA80:[].DAT;
-RMS-F-WER, FILE WRITE ERROR
-SYSTEM-F-HANGUP, DATA SET HANG-UP
%TRACE-F-TRACEBACK, SYMBOLIC STACK DUMP FOLLOWS
IMAGE MODULE ROUTINE LINE REL PC ABS PC
DEC$COBRTL 0 00000000000109C4 000000007C1AC9C4
DEC$COBRTL 0 00000000000100A0 000000007C1AC0A0
DEC$COBRTL 0 000000000002C848 000000007C1C8848
IRE032_2005 OPE032_2005 OPE032_2005 766 00000000000005B0 00000000000305B0
IRE032_2005 0 0000000000023EB0 0000000000033EB0
0 FFFFFFFF90911474 FFFFFFFF90911474
ESTE PROCESO SE CANCELO FAVOR DE COMUNICARSE CON EL ENCARGADO DEL SISTEMA
%DCL-W-IVQUAL, UNRECOGNIZED QUALIFIER - CHECK VALIDITY, SPELLING, AND PLACEMENT"

these is one of the instructions "$ IF P2 .EQS. "PRINT2" THEN DONDE :== "LG14$QUE"

$ IF P2 .EQS. "PRINT2" THEN LINEAS :== "LTA80:"
$!

my english is not good, sorry the miss spelling
thanks
Author RE: problem sendin output to printer
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 462
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on August 08 2010 16:35
The error message indicates that the LTA device is not properly spooled to the print queue and the Cobol program tried to write to a LTA device that did not have anything connected to it.

You should be able to use the COPY command to copy a test file to the spooled port as a test.

Note that the "$" is reserved for print queue names created by Digital/Compaq/HP or third party software.

Showing the print queue set up and spooled device set may help trouble shoot the issue.

TCPIP may or may not have anything to do with the issue, depending on what type of print queue you have.

In general for network printing, the preferences are:

1. DCPS network connection.
2. Reverse LAT
3. Telnetsym connection

And only if you have no other way of doing it should you be trying to use the old LPR/LPD.
Author RE: problem sendin output to printer
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 97
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on August 09 2010 01:40
Realize too that an LTA device is a LAT device and has nothing to do with TCPIP. A TCPIP based printer would be aTNA device or a BG device.

If the printer is conencted via thenet and has an IP address, then you need to use TCPIP and create the queue apporopriately. If the printer is conencted to a DECserver, then you need to use LAT.

Update this note with the connection type and I'll post an example for you.

Thanks,
Dan
Author RE: problem sendin output to printer
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 462
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on August 09 2010 02:38
Actually it is perfectly valid to spool LAT terminal devices to non-LAT print queues. I do it all the time.

It allows you to set up generic print queues with spooled devices. It also allows you to set up spooled devices with DCPS print queues that print to raw TCPIP or DECNET connections.

A LAT port also can be used to set up a spooled device to an LPR printer.

In these cases, the LAT port is never bound to an actual terminal server port.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

Shoutbox Archive