Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, December 14, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,239
Newest Member: liu000888
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Author RE: PC Shuts Down Itself SINCE running SIMH
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 26 2008 10:07
Another problem:
SIMH works fine on my laptop...But today, I did the same steps on my PC as well, and everything works OK....
But, whenever I exit out of the UAF or...just right now, I exited SIMH, and my PC just shuts down instantly...WHat device thats attached, can cause this strange behavour on my PC when SIMH runs....???


The laptop does not do it...
However, I installed Wincpap program on the laptop, but not under my PC....Can that be a problem??

Or...maybe its attaching to a device that can harm the PC...

Ok...how much CPU LOAD does SIMH comsume??? Maybe thats the issue that SIMH overlocks the CPU....I dont know, but this is strange..

The laptop works fine.

Thanks.
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on June 26 2008 10:25
Strill does not work...
I put the following commands into a text file renamed it VMSBOOT.INI.


So your SIMH VAX emulator lives in a file called VMSBOOT.EXE?!

Or you call it like

C:\whatever> vax.exe -v vmsboot.ini




?

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 26 2008 10:59
No.

Ok, the SIMH folder contains the VAX.EXE.
But, I created a notepad called VMSBOOT.TXT file and entered those commands what you posted above and then renamed it to VMSBOOT.INI. Then I inserted this INI file into the SIMH folder were the VAX.EXE is there too.

Is this correct? Please explain this. I would appreciate this. The manual does not seem to documenht this well.
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 26 2008 11:02
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on June 26 2008 16:24
Ok, the SIMH folder contains the VAX.EXE.
But, I created a notepad called VMSBOOT.TXT file and entered those commands what you posted above and then renamed it to VMSBOOT.INI. Then I inserted this INI file into the SIMH folder were the VAX.EXE is there too.

Is this correct? Please explain this. I would appreciate this. The manual does not seem to documenht this well.


It's not correct.

As has been explained (multiple times), the .INI file has to have the same name as the SIMH VAX emulator. So, if your emulator executable is named VAX.EXE, the INI file has to be named VAX.INI to be used as a default startup file.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 26 2008 20:47
It works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks...

Now, my other issue on my desktop PC...Did you have the time to read that?

When I exit the emulator, my PC shuts down instantly...
Maybe the emulator eats too much CPU cycles or something and get overheated or overclocked...Who knows...

Can this be that the certain attached device is not compatible with the PC???

And on the PC, I did not install the Wincpap..

THIS DID NOT HAPPEN...It only started since I am running SIMH.

There are few possiblities here:

1. SIMH causes CPU to overheat..MAYBE...???
2. The attached device is NOT compatible with my PC??

I dont know...
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 26 2008 20:55
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 26 2008 21:52
Hi -

Ok, when VAX.EXE was running...The CPU process really did spike up to 30 to 58 percent...

I though SIMH was really light on the CPU cycles...But I guess not. So I think thats the issue here.
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 26 2008 21:52
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on June 26 2008 22:26
It works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks...


You're welcome.

Now, my other issue on my desktop PC...Did you have the time to read that?


I did, but I can't imagine any way that SIMH could do that to a host OS, not even Windows...

When I exit the emulator, my PC shuts down instantly...
Maybe the emulator eats too much CPU cycles or something and get overheated or overclocked...Who knows...


I haven't seen anything like that with SIMH, and I have been running various versions of it for quite some time on a couple of (operating) systems. No idea, sorry.

And on the PC, I did not install the Wincpap..


There are two flavors of VAX.EXE on simh.trailing-edge.com - without and with ethernet support - which one are you running? You can tell by issuing the following command in SIMH:

sim> show version




This shows

VAX simulator V3.8-0 [64b data, 64b addresses, Ethernet support]




on my Win2k machine.

Winpcap is only used (and only need to be installed) if you downloaded and are using the VAX.EXE with Ethernet support.

Ok, when VAX.EXE was running...The CPU process really did spike up to 30 to 58 percent...

I though SIMH was really light on the CPU cycles...But I guess not. So I think thats the issue here.


Problem is that it's difficult for SIMH to tell when the VAX CPU is idle (and then idle itself). But trust me, it has become a lot better in recent versions.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Edited by martinv2 on June 26 2008 22:28
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 27 2008 00:09
Hi,

I have without Ehternet...
But, I have downloaded it just now..

WHich is better?? With or without Ethernet support?

In any case, I had burned both versions onto a CD...

Thx.
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 27 2008 00:11
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on June 27 2008 00:53
I have without Ehternet...


Then the culprit can't possibly winpcap.

Which is better?? With or without Ethernet support?


It depends on whether you want to use the network. SIMH, the VAX and VMS are perfectly happy without it.

To learn about (most parts of) VMS, you won't need networking.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 27 2008 01:45
Thanks.

One more questiion if I may...This is just basices like setting up login accounts and this:

How can I create a legal banner that shows up on the LOGIN prompt beofre I login to VMS:

I want the message to be like this.

"This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




And I did the following but did NOT appear when I attempt to log back in. I want this message to appear on user accounts and of course for SYSTEM.

Also, the VMS System Security Guide, DOES NOT document this at all in their PDF manual...I did a search also...What a bummer...

DEFINE/SYSTEM SYS$ANNOUNCE "This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




I know this sounds STUPID for me to do without having to manage users....But, its good to know how to do it for practice....
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 27 2008 01:48
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on June 27 2008 02:06
How can I create a legal banner that shows up on the LOGIN prompt before I login to VMS:

I want the message to be like this.

"This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




And I did the following but did NOT appear when I attempt to log back in. I want this message to appear on user accounts and of course for SYSTEM.

DEFINE/SYSTEM SYS$ANNOUNCE "This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




Logical name definitions won't survive a reboot unless you put them in one of the customizable files that are executed during VMS startup. Best suited for the above DEFINE would be SYS$MANAGER:SYLOGICALS.COM , but historically it's in SYS$MANAGER:SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM.

Also, the VMS System Security Guide, DOES NOT document this at all in their PDF manual...I did a search also...What a bummer...


With VMS, the question is not whether something is documented, but rather where in the huge documentation set it is documented.

SYS$ANNOUNCE in itself doesn't have to do with system security, but rather with system administration, so it's documented in the System Manager's Manual.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 27 2008 03:00
Hi,

I did the following commands but with no luck. It doesnt work after a reboot. It still says Welcome to OpenVMS OS.

Ok, it did it...But how come it WILL NOT save it for the next REBOOT?

$ logout
SYSTEM logged out at 27-JUN-2008 15:23:17.35

This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthoriz
ed access will be prosecuted.

Username:





REPLY/ALL/BELL "This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




DEFINE/SYSTEM SYS$ANNOUNCE "This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




Can you please assist I would appreciate it.
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 27 2008 03:23
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on June 27 2008 05:02
I did the following commands but with no luck. It doesnt work after a reboot. It still says Welcome to OpenVMS OS.

Ok, it did it...But how come it WILL NOT save it for the next REBOOT?


What thought in the sentence
Logical name definitions won't survive a reboot unless you put them in one of the customizable files that are executed during VMS startup

exactly didn't you understand?

$ logout
SYSTEM logged out at 27-JUN-2008 15:23:17.35

This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthoriz
ed access will be prosecuted.

Username:





There is your SYS$ANNOUNCE. And if you put the DEFINE/SYSTEM... in a file that gets executed at system startup, it will be there after a reboot. That's how things in VMS work: you start with some system defaults, and put all your customizations in files, using a text editor.

Now would be a good time to read the chapters in the VMS User's Manual that deal with the VMS text editors EVE and EDT, though getting accustomed with one of them will probably suffice. I'd suggest EVE, but that's personal preference.

REPLY/ALL/BELL "This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




The REPLY command posts a one-shot message to one or more logged-in users.

DEFINE/SYSTEM SYS$ANNOUNCE "This system is restricted to authorized users. Individuals attempting unauthorized access will be prosecuted."




If you put that line in SYS$MANAGER:SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM, it will still be there after the next reboot.

Please read the manuals suggested, and don't only copy-and-paste commands (sorry to sound harsh, but that's my impression from this discussion).

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 27 2008 05:35
Ok, lets try this again.

I did:

$ @SYS$MANAGER:SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM

The OpenVMS VAX system is now executing the site-specific startup commands.

%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of SYS$SYLOGIN has been superseded
%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of SYS$ANNOUNCE has been superseded
$ DEFINE/SYSTEM SYS$ANNOUNCE "This system is restricted to authorized users. In
dividuals attempting unauthorized access will be pros
ecuted."
%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of SYS$ANNOUNCE has been superseded
$
$
$




After REBOOT:

Welcome to OpenVMS (TM) VAX Operating System, Version V7.3

Username:




I did EXACTLY WHAT THE Manual says:

$ @SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM

The OpenVMS VAX system is now executing the site-specific startup commands.

%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of SYS$SYLOGIN has been superseded
%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of SYS$ANNOUNCE has been superseded
$ DEFINE/SYSTEM SYS$ANNOUNCE "SIRIUS OPENVMS CLUSTER AT ANDROMEDA, INC."
%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of SYS$ANNOUNCE has been superseded
$




I dont understand. Sorry.

And BTW - The manual DOES NOT mention using text editors. The command above I got it straight from sample shown in there. I dont see any mentions of using a text editor in Section under Defining SYS$ANNOUNCE Please have a look at the manual.
Edited by vmsfreak01 on June 27 2008 05:53
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on June 27 2008 07:35
Hi to all,

Thanks alot for all your support.
I know its tough for me since I came from the Windows enviroment.

Yes, I want to learn VMS and should take alot of time before mastering it.

I am sorry for being a pest on here and I can understand that I need to learn this on my own instead of being spoon fed out here.

Thanks.
Author RE: Installing OpenVMS/VAX 7.3 on SIMH?
valdirfranco
Member

Posts: 73
Location: Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil
Joined: 18.06.08
Posted on September 12 2008 18:16
forget about it. I put a new thread.
Edited by valdirfranco on September 12 2008 18:35
39575927
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

jiml
November 09 2018
Thank you , Malmberg ! Exactly what I was hoping for . Reset key & all is well . JImL

malmberg
November 09 2018
Eisner was upgraded to the current Multinet Release. As part of that a new host key was generated. The old key was incompatible with newer Linux.

jiml
November 02 2018
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ?

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


Shoutbox Archive