Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, October 21, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 6
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,217
Newest Member: clarencewallace
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author Need Help getting EVE editor?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on August 02 2008 06:49
Hi,

I am running VMS/VAX on SIMH but I dont have EVE installed. How can I get EVE installed as my editor?

Or..VI??

I did this command:

$ edit/tpu
%TPU-E-NONANSICRT, SYS$INPUT must be supported CRT

Thx.
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on August 02 2008 12:55
$ edit/tpu
%TPU-E-NONANSICRT, SYS$INPUT must be supported CRT


EVE is a screen-oriented editor. As such, it must be able to control the screen, which it only can do for VT200-class terminals and up (or emulations of these).

I'd guess a $ SHOW TERMINAL shows the device type as VT100 or UNKNOWN. That's what EVE is complaining about.

Use a decent VT200 emulation, e.g. PuTTY, and EVE will work.

HTH,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: SIMH and terminal emulation
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on August 02 2008 15:05
I'm asking here, because I don't have SIMH set up.

If someone is running SIMH, when they log on to the "system", are they connected to the "console port"? Does SIMH allow them to log in via TELNET or SSH through some kind of "virtual terminal" mechanism? Or are they restricted to booting the system, and then accessing it from another system on the same network, via TELNET or SSH?
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on August 02 2008 19:44
Brad,

If someone is running SIMH, when they log on to the "system", are they connected to the "console port"? Does SIMH allow them to log in via TELNET or SSH through some kind of "virtual terminal" mechanism? Or are they restricted to booting the system, and then accessing it from another system on the same network, via TELNET or SSH?


SIMH's console port is either the same DOS box it's started in (bad - no terminal emulation), or a Telnet port you can connect to using a terminal emulation (recommended).

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on August 03 2008 14:46
martinv2 wrote:
Brad,
[...]

SIMH's console port is either the same DOS box it's started in (bad - no terminal emulation), or a Telnet port you can connect to using a terminal emulation (recommended).

cu,
Martin


Thanks - one of the reasons I was asking was that it seemed to me that the OP in this thread might have been trying to user the "console port" rather than the "telnet port" to do his editing. If this was the case, then he could solve his problem by using the "telnet port" and decent terminal emulation.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on August 04 2008 00:49
I have to make a few corrections to my previous post:

EVE is a screen-oriented editor. As such, it must be able to control the screen, which it only can do for VT200-class terminals and up (or emulations of these).

In fact, EVE works with VT100 and up.

I'd guess a $ SHOW TERMINAL shows the device type as VT100 or UNKNOWN. That's what EVE is complaining about.

Use a decent VT200 emulation, e.g. PuTTY, and EVE will work.


PuTTY does VT102 emulation - but that'll suffice. VMS must know about the terminal type, though: a $ SET TERMINAL /INQUIRE will let VMS ask the terminal.

cu,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on August 04 2008 13:19
Stephen Hoffman wrote:
Thanks - one of the reasons I was asking was that it seemed to me that the OP in this thread might have been trying to user the "console port" rather than the "telnet port" to do his editing. If this was the case, then he could solve his problem by using the "telnet port" and decent terminal emulation.


Oops, that's right, y'all are still using Microsoft Windows here. The local environment has full emulation at the shell. My bad.


I'm not sure what the OP is using, but I've found it's much easier and nicer to use PuTTY on my Linux laptop, rather than Xterm (or whatever comes standard with XWindows).

I'm not sure if you remember the flurry of posts on EISNER:: shortly after the recent OS upgrade; there were a number of users who had problems using XTerm on various flavors of MacOS X.

The point being that some terminal emulation software is good enough to be used, almost regardless of platform.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on August 13 2008 01:50
Ok, is there any way I can install EVE even with SIMH??
Is this impossible to do under SIMH?

Any ideas..??

Thx.
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
SYSMGR
Member

Posts: 17
Location: Leusden, Netherlands
Joined: 14.03.06
Posted on August 13 2008 08:48
Just try this (dont know if it works, but it won't break anything):

$ SET TERM/DEC_CRT [=2[,3[,4]]]

and perhaps other settings. see $ HELP SET TERM for details (uopy can do so on a non-VT terminal (like the console).

If set, EVE may be happy smiley
http://www.grootersnet.nl
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on August 13 2008 20:21
Ok, I will try it..

But what do these mean??
[=2[,3[,4]]]
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
martinv2
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 102
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on August 13 2008 23:16
Ok, I will try it..

But what do these mean??
[=2[,3[,4]]]

You may enter a list of DEC_CRT characteristic sets (should be put in parenthesis).

It could be easier to just
$ SET TERMINAL /INQUIRE


and then look in
$ SHOW TERMINAL


whether it set the terminal device type to VT-something.

Or you could just set it using
$ SET TERMINAL /DEVICE=VT100


and test whether this works out for your terminal emulation.

HTH,
Martin


http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
http://vms.pdv-systeme.de/users/martinv/
Author RE: Need Help getting EVE editor?
vmsfreak01
Member

Posts: 41
Joined: 19.06.08
Posted on August 15 2008 10:15
I did this

$ SET TERMINAL /DEVICE=VT100

And Im almost there, but still seems disorganized as below.

$ edit/tpu
u92;\0m20lu92smiley0a88;u92;*<u92;}m2J?3l;24r4lu92;=?6l?7l?8h1;2'z1;3'{24;HJK21;80Hu92;[1
J;H[End of file]K22;H;7m Buffer: MAIN
| Write | Insert | Forward m
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive