Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesTuesday, September 18, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 12
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,202
Newest Member: cliff0fleming
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author TELNET timeout question
BryanBentz
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 24.03.10
Posted on March 26 2010 11:15
I've gotten OpenVMS V7.3 running (on SIMH emulator under MS Windows XP, but that shouldn't be relevant to my question). Things generally work well, but when I telnet to the machine, I can log in, and work for maybe 2 or 3 minutes, and the connection is terminated.

[New info: the same thing happens with FTP; the timeout is always 75 seconds.]

I assume this is some setting somewhere, but I can't figure out what it is. It isn't an idle-time timeout; I can be busy typing away. I haven't timed it precisely, but it seems to be in the 2 to 3 minute range. (The time interval is always the same, I just have no precise way of measuring it, which is why I give a 2-3 minute range).

My hope is that this is something trivial I'm overlooking. The console window (which isn't TELNET based) is fine, but has other limitations. IF anyone can point me to the right parameter or setting I'd appreciate it - I've been reading FAQs with no luck, which is sort of surprising, as I think this must have occurred for others.
Edited by BryanBentz on April 09 2010 01:39
Author RE: TELNET timeout question
astrodanco
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04.03.10
Posted on April 01 2010 12:43
Are you using HP TCPIP, MULTINET or TCPWARE on the OpenVMS side?

The problem might be your TELNET client? Which TELNET client are you using? I see that the FreeVMS Alpha emulator folks are including a copy of PuTTY for TELNET access. You might want to try that as your TELNET client for SIMH.

I'm currently using HP TCPIP on the OpenVMS side and TeraTerm on the client side for TELNET and SSH access to my emulated VAX machine under SIMH. I'm also running SIMH under Windows 7 64-bit (not that that would make any difference that I'm aware of). I'm not seeing any timeout problem.

"A few minutes" sure does sound like some sort of session keepalive interval.
Edited by astrodanco on April 01 2010 12:44
Author RE: TELNET timeout question
BryanBentz
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 24.03.10
Posted on April 09 2010 01:41
On the VMS side it's just TCPIP.

I added some new info to the original message: I get the same behavior with FTP, and the timeout value is always 75 seconds. I found a few TCPIP parameters with that value, and tried changing the values to be bigger, with no luck.

(I played around with different telnet clients; I like Tera Term, and use it now as the console for SIMH, which is the only way I can stay connected for any length of time. The timeout is a huge and frustrating problem, as I have files that would take about 82 seconds to FTP, and I can't get them to the virtual VAX.)
Edited by BryanBentz on April 09 2010 01:42
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive