Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesSunday, June 25, 2017
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 6,884
Newest Member: d80mbad
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author VS3100 to Infoserver?
molotovmouse
Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 23.02.07
Posted on May 08 2010 20:21
Is it somehow possible to convert an old Vaxstation 3100 to a Infoserver?

I assume it's all firmware based right?

I don't really have a specific reason or need to do it, other than it would be nice to have one and I'm too cheap to buy one off of eBay.

I have been serving cds via Storage Expansion enclosures, but VMS is so bloody slow on the old box since it only has 12MB memory.

Back in the day, when I we had Infoservers at work they seemed so snappy.
Author RE: VS3100 to Infoserver?
matt002
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 31.03.10
Posted on June 01 2010 02:41
I have not tried, but I did read of someone who converted a MicroVAX 3100 Model 20 to an Infoserver 100 by swapping the ROM chips. You also need to set the default boot flags to D0000000 so that it will boot from SYSD. I think the other oddity was that the console ends up on the printer port rather than the console port.
I think the model 20 is the only one that can be converted to an infoserver.

I agree that infoservers (especially the Infoserver 1000) are very handy and whilst OpenVMS 8.2 onwards can serve LAD disks, if you want to support VXTs a real infoserver is still the only way smiley
http://www.9track.net/
Author RE: VS3100 to Infoserver?
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on June 02 2010 03:09
Why is a real infoserver needed for VXT instead of the software infoserver now available for VMS?
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author RE: VS3100 to Infoserver?
matt002
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 31.03.10
Posted on June 02 2010 12:39
I believe HP decided not to implement the particular functions required by VXTs for remote pagefile or the VXTLDR mechanism etc. It is not suprising as VXTs have not been manufactured for nearly 15 years and I guess they decided no-one would still be using them. I do know a few people at work however that refuse to let them go smiley

It is possible to load them in 'host-based' mode from a modern VMS system using LANCP or DECnet, but you don't get the nice workgroup/centralised management features of the 'infoserver-based' mode and the VXT must have at least 12MB memory.
http://www.9track.net/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

pintero
March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

peteherrera
March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

malmberg
February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

ChrisChiesa
February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

bofh
January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

malmberg
December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Cmota
December 29 2016
Hello, I am in need of the openvms.disk, but I don't know where to obtain it

moch75
December 26 2016
personal alpha

moch75
December 24 2016
personal alpha+

malmberg
December 17 2016
I do not know what the status of the last known business that was handling the Digital PDP-11 os software.

malmberg
December 17 2016
There is a special license for hobbyist to run some Digital's OSs on SimH/PDP-11 only. Real hardware technically needs a new license.

bamchchnz
December 14 2016
Hello, this is my first post to this news group. I have installed openVMS on Alpha and a small VAX. However a friend has just given me a microPDP11/73 which is running RT-11. However I'd like t

abrsvc
October 21 2016
The license process takes a few days. I believe that it is processed in India so there are time zonesinvolved too.

bnovak
October 18 2016
Is hobbyst license program still active? I have request license, today, when have to expect answer?

Shoutbox Archive