Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, July 20, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 10
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,166
Newest Member: guozihao
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author MicroVAX 3100 questions
PIEBALDconsult
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: 21.03.08
Posted on September 26 2010 06:01
I just got a MicroVAX 3100 via Ebay. It has no disks, no drives at all.

I can get disks. And I can get the hobbyist media here.

How, then, can I boot the VAX from the media and install VMS?

I learned years ago that a VAX can boot as a satellite of another VAX, but can I boot it from one of my AlphaServers? I suspect so, but would that require LAT? I installed TCPIP _without_ LAT-over-TCPIP on the AlphaServers.

Mightn't it be easier to remove the CD drive (an RRD46?) from my AlphaServer 800, attach it to the VAX, and use that?

Perhaps I should get a CD drive for the VAX? What model should I seek?
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on October 11 2010 01:23
you could boot the VAX from the alphaserver. Look in the cluster manual.

LAT is not a relevant protocol. MOP is
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 97
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on October 12 2010 15:21
I hate to disagree, but you cannot boot a VAX from an Alpha. The executable images are different. You can boot a VAX into an Alpha cluster with no problem, but a disk that contains VAX images must be present.

Dan
Author RE: Yeah
PIEBALDconsult
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: 21.03.08
Posted on October 12 2010 19:52
I realized after I posted that I "misspoke". I didn't mean boot from the hard drive, but have access to the CD-ROM drive and boot from a VAX image there. My VAX Hobbyist media should be on the way.
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on October 13 2010 01:17
you can serve the VAX image from your alpha - look at the Infoserver software included in VMS V8.3

It is possible for a alpha system to make a VAX system disk available for booting.
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
PIEBALDconsult
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: 21.03.08
Posted on January 13 2011 16:26
I finally have all the parts (I hope) and have taken a quick look to see about having the VAX boot (install) from a CD mounted on one of my AlphaServers.

Could you point me in the direction of the Infoserver software?
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 505
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on January 14 2011 07:16
You could also build a SimH VAX and use that to assist in building the 3100.
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
PIEBALDconsult
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: 21.03.08
Posted on January 14 2011 16:05
I found this
http://www.openvms.compaq.com/doc/83final/ba322_90045/apcs03.html?btnPrev=%AB%A0prev
document and got the InfoServer software running and serving the disk.

Now I need for the VAX to access it.
Author RE: MicroVAX 3100 questions
PIEBALDconsult
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Joined: 21.03.08
Posted on January 15 2011 05:54
Alright, I borrowed the CD drive from my AlphaServer 800 and am progessing...
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive