Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, July 23, 2018
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 9
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,168
Newest Member: davej
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author Got my VAX, what do I have?
snaggs
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 14.07.13
Posted on July 27 2013 02:06
I picked up 5 VAX 4000/90's today. Some of which had been canibalised. I was thinking that I'd be able to get at least one running from the 5. Apparently some of them were running before decommissioning.



However, none of them had hard-drive in them, but there was one in a Caddy which dropped in, so I hooked it up.

I've hooked up a terminal, but I'm not sure I've put it in the right place, as I'm not getting any console when I press the halt button.



There wasn't many cables, and the one Ive used is the only one I had. The terminal was from the same place, and still had console settings.

Any ideas? The lights are all red, which is not encouraging!



Daniel.
Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
snaggs
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 14.07.13
Posted on July 27 2013 03:03
Also theres a TK50 tape of OpenVMS 6 on ebay. Will this tape have all the decnet and tcpip stack that I need? Or did they ship on seperate tapes? Will DLT tapes format on the TZ30?

Daniel.
Edited by snaggs on July 27 2013 03:31
Author RE: Got one working
snaggs
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 14.07.13
Posted on July 27 2013 20:01
Ok, Ive managed to get one working, and transplanted the CD drive (DKA400) and a RZ26B disk.

Seems to boot up ok,

Q1. Got some LCSPX error? Is that just because there is no monitor plugged in?
Q2. If I press the eject button on the CD-Rom, it does nothing. Is that because its using a caddy and there isn't one in there?
Q3. OpenVMS is on the disk, yay. However, I don't know any of the passwords. Is there a way to keep the software but wipe/reset the system?

Thankyou!

Author RE: VAX Conversational boot...
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on July 28 2013 01:37
...or, how to keep your software.

Hoffman Labs has an article on how to perform this feat:

<http://labs.hoffmanlabs.com/node/204>

Check out the website for all manner of things VMS.
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 505
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on July 28 2013 02:25
> Q2. If I press the eject button on the CD-Rom, it does nothing. Is that because its using a caddy and there isn't one in there?

Yes

Q3. OpenVMS is on the disk, yay. However, I don't know any of the passwords. Is there a way to keep the software but wipe/reset the system?

You'll want to do a conversational boot. Personally, I like:

>>> b/1
SYSBOOT> set/start=opa0:
SYSBOOT> continue
$ set noon
$ spawn
$ @sys$system:startup

This brings the machine up normally, then gives you back the $ prompt
when the startup script logs out. From there, you can:

$ set noon
$ spawn
$ set def sys$system:
$ mc authorize

and have your way with the machine.

Do another conversational boot and reset the startup file to:

SYSBOOT: SET/START=SYS$SYSTEM:STARTUP

to restore normal boot operations.

Someone else deserves credit for posting this information long ago. Unfortunately, I do not remember where I got it.


Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
snaggs
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 14.07.13
Posted on July 28 2013 03:28
Thankyou, Im in now with a full set of licences. Is there a way to print the licence keys out incase I break something?

Daniel.
Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on July 28 2013 05:16
snaggs wrote:
Thankyou, Im in now with a full set of licences. Is there a way to print the licence keys out incase I break something?

Daniel.


I'm currently without a VMS machine; I think that $License/list will give you what you want. If not, try $License Help
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 464
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on July 29 2013 17:05
If you set up a SimH/VAX emulator with networking and set it up as a VMS cluster boot node, you can network boot your VAXen with a minimal amount of hardware on them.

https://sourceforge.net/p/vms-ports/wiki/VMSHardware/
Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
snaggs
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 14.07.13
Posted on August 30 2013 23:12
Hi, i did this a few weeks and and seems I didnt use one of my normal passwords. So Ive tried to do it again and when I type

B/1

It comes up with EZA0

Instead and I cant type this other commands. I added a AUI connector. Is therevsomething else I need to do?

Daniel
Author RE: Got my VAX, what do I have?
snaggs
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 14.07.13
Posted on August 31 2013 00:06
Ok, I worked it out.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
June 26 2018
https://www.openvmshobbyi
st.com/forum/viewthread.p
hp?forum_id=10&thread_id=
2363


bhamakripa
June 24 2018
I am trying OpenVMS via SIMH. Need to get OS binaries for v7.3. Registered here but don't have any membership number yet which is needed to get license. Pls suggest what to do. I hardly know anyth

basilh
June 05 2018
Any other forum members in Perth, Australia?

LouF91
April 05 2018
ah maybe they love that!

malmberg
March 24 2018
Probably. More people hang out on the comp.os.vms newsgroup.

vaxpert
March 23 2018
I have a PE42A and other Alpha system stuff for sale. I'm in So California. Any interest out there?

goodbyespy
February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

peteherrera
February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

prohorenko
February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

malmberg
December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

nmbonao
December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

aarommes
December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis
t.com/forum/viewthread.ph
p?forum_id=130&thread_id=
2991


malmberg
September 10 2017
https://sourceforge.net/p
/vms-ports/wiki/VMSInstal
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?


DoeveR
August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

Bart
March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

Shoutbox Archive