Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, October 28, 2021
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 4
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,599
Newest Member: DrFalken
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author VAX systems from America
Box_the_Jack_in
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 27.08.15
Posted on March 26 2016 09:18
Hi All, I want to but a VAX machine from America but what I'm wondering about is them having 110-120 Volts electric current, and here in England being 220-240 Volts. Can somebody tell me are the machines (MicroVAX and VAXStation) able to switch automatically to our current, or are they just for the American market 110-120 Volts if bought from there.
Thanks for your help smiley
Ian
Author RE: VAX systems from America
vometia
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 8
Location: The Frog & Hounds
Joined: 07.03.16
Posted on March 27 2016 04:20
My 4000/60, 3100/76 and 3100-style expansion cabs are all dual voltage (auto-selecting, I think though it obviously pays to look closely!) but I would still check with the seller beforehand.

It is possible to get them from UK sellers: can't quite remember offhand where I bought my 4000/60 or if they're even trading still since it was years ago, but hopefully someone can give you a pointer.

It definitely pays to be cautious, though: I remember plugging a 110 volt scanner into a UK wall socket (this is when I worked for DEC, perhaps ominously). Oopsie.


Edit: I'm also perhaps mistakenly assuming that the VaxStations in question are just standard ones but I should add that they both came from UK organisations, the 3100 was scrapped by DEC UK and the 4000 bought from a UK-based reseller, so my observation may be of rather questionable usefulness. :/
Edited by vometia on March 27 2016 04:28
Author RE: VAX systems from America
petersieg
Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 14.03.16
Posted on March 28 2016 23:32
Yes ask the seller. Older machines may have a selection switch to select between 110-120V AC OR 220-240V AC input.

Peter
Author RE: VAX systems from America
Box_the_Jack_in
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 27.08.15
Posted on April 02 2016 12:15
Thanks for your replies. I bought one in the end with the seller believing it's an auto-switch machine.Let's hope so, I'll let you know if it goes 'Boom' smiley

Ian
Author RE: VAX systems from America
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 107
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on April 04 2016 14:08
Before you blindly plug it in, look near the AC inlet. There should be an indication there whether or not it can handle the different voltages. If not, there should be a wattage or amperage label. This will be needed to size a proper converter.

Dan
Author RE: VAX systems from America
Box_the_Jack_in
Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 27.08.15
Posted on April 13 2016 04:39
Hi, The machine works fine so no problem there smiley

Ian
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
V6.1

Shoutbox Archive