Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, March 19, 2018
Hobby Wear
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,058
Newest Member: Bytesurfer
PdfFactory Pro Enterprise 2.31, MATFOR 4.00.061031 in Lahey Fortran, Adobe PhotoShop 9.0 CS2 oem, Trend Micro InterScan VirusWall 6.0, Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professional sale, Salon Iris 5.05, Drafix Pro Landscape 11.2, oem Adobe PhotoShop CS 8.0 cheap buy, Catia 5 R12 P3 with SP2, Mcafee Secure Internet Gateway 4.5, oem Adobe Acrobat Professional 8 oem, Visual UML 4.1 Developer Edition, sale Adobe CS3 Design Premium Vol for Mac low price, Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 9.0 Professional With SP1, Adobe After Effects Plugins, low price AutoCAD 2006 cheap buy, Avid NewsCutter XP 3.8, The Movie Library 1.7.11, oem Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0, ProFlyers 6.0 PDF Forms for Adobe Acrobat, PTC Pro Engineer Routed Systems Designer 5.0, sale DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.38, CyberBizPlan v1.0.165 WinAll, NeverCenter Silo 1.16b, cheap buy AutoCAD 2005, Norton Save And Restore 11, sale Adobe Creative Suite 3 Design Premium sale, Adobe Premiere Plugins Collection 2007, cheap buy Adobe Creative Suite Premium Edition 2.0 for Mac sale, Active Desktop Calendar 6.5.061124, sale Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional, X-Rite MonacoPROFILER Platinum 4.8, EmailUnlimited 6.1 Win98NTME, oem Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended sale
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author VAX systems from America

Posts: 20
Joined: 27.08.15
Posted on March 26 2016 09:18
Hi All, I want to but a VAX machine from America but what I'm wondering about is them having 110-120 Volts electric current, and here in England being 220-240 Volts. Can somebody tell me are the machines (MicroVAX and VAXStation) able to switch automatically to our current, or are they just for the American market 110-120 Volts if bought from there.
Thanks for your help smiley
Author RE: VAX systems from America

User Avatar

Posts: 8
Location: The Frog & Hounds
Joined: 07.03.16
Posted on March 27 2016 04:20
My 4000/60, 3100/76 and 3100-style expansion cabs are all dual voltage (auto-selecting, I think though it obviously pays to look closely!) but I would still check with the seller beforehand.

It is possible to get them from UK sellers: can't quite remember offhand where I bought my 4000/60 or if they're even trading still since it was years ago, but hopefully someone can give you a pointer.

It definitely pays to be cautious, though: I remember plugging a 110 volt scanner into a UK wall socket (this is when I worked for DEC, perhaps ominously). Oopsie.

Edit: I'm also perhaps mistakenly assuming that the VaxStations in question are just standard ones but I should add that they both came from UK organisations, the 3100 was scrapped by DEC UK and the 4000 bought from a UK-based reseller, so my observation may be of rather questionable usefulness. :/
Edited by vometia on March 27 2016 04:28
Author RE: VAX systems from America

Posts: 9
Joined: 14.03.16
Posted on March 28 2016 23:32
Yes ask the seller. Older machines may have a selection switch to select between 110-120V AC OR 220-240V AC input.

Author RE: VAX systems from America

Posts: 20
Joined: 27.08.15
Posted on April 02 2016 12:15
Thanks for your replies. I bought one in the end with the seller believing it's an auto-switch machine.Let's hope so, I'll let you know if it goes 'Boom' smiley

Author RE: VAX systems from America

Posts: 92
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on April 04 2016 14:08
Before you blindly plug it in, look near the AC inlet. There should be an indication there whether or not it can handle the different voltages. If not, there should be a wattage or amperage label. This will be needed to size a proper converter.

Author RE: VAX systems from America

Posts: 20
Joined: 27.08.15
Posted on April 13 2016 04:39
Hi, The machine works fine so no problem there smiley

Jump to Forum:


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?



You must login to vote.
You must login to post a message.

February 27 2018
To Prohorenko. Please, visit group OpenVMS in the ok.ru

February 24 2018
How much does it cost to buy a complete OpenVMS hardcopy documentation set of the latest version

February 17 2018
Please help to obtain the license on OpenVMS

December 12 2017
HPE only makes the most current version of OpenVMS Alpha / IA64 /VAX available to hobbyists. When I had access to the Alliance 1 program it was the same. No public downloads are allowed by HPE.

December 08 2017
Is anybody knows OpenVMS 8.2 version downloadable version? or CD copy? Thank you very much

December 02 2017
Bitcoin and Blockchain enthusiasts ( plus distributed computing ) please connec / reply: http://www.openvmshobbyis

September 10 2017
lation/ For the most part just use VMS 6.1 media instead of 7.3. But why run the older release?

August 07 2017
Where can I find the write up on running VMS 6.1 using the simh emulator?

March 20 2017
Happy to have found my password again!

March 16 2017
peteherrera. Agreed.

March 04 2017
It would be nice to be able to buy the lastest hardcopy full OpenVMS docset at a very reduced price through the Hobbyist program. smiley

February 05 2017
Decus > Connect > Encompass<Country>

February 02 2017
What's the status of DECUS memberships? Just found my membership card. :-)

January 06 2017
Searching for Pathworks 6.0 for DOS & Windows. Anyone have it?

December 29 2016
The openvms disks question is frequently answered in the forums, and is not something to ask about in the shout box.

Shoutbox Archive