Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, October 28, 2021
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,599
Newest Member: DrFalken
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Hardware Forum
Author old etherworks3 turbo mopboot : how to emulate ?
stefe67
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 20.12.17
Posted on February 02 2018 00:00
Dear all,

we have some old stations ( without hard disk) but with a special ethernet card and eprom with etherworks3/turbo configured with mop boot : when they boot, they contact the vax, and it send a image file, and download a windows 3.1 and some other exe applications.

my problem is that old pc are very old, and we need to use them again for 2-3 years : is there a possibilty to emulate a mopboot ? emulate a false mac address is not a problem but for mop....

do you have any idea ?

tahnk you !
Author RE: old etherworks3 turbo mopboot : how to emulate ?
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 527
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on February 02 2018 03:55
Most PCs can be configured to do a PXE or TFTP based boot is their BIOS settings.

PXE is a superset of TFTP and some other protocols.

OpenVMS/IA64 8.3 and later allow setting up a PXE BOOT server which may or may not require the Infoserver utility that can be enabled for it.

http://h41379.www4.hpe.com/doc/83final/ba322_90045/apcs01.html

I do not know if those instructions will work for using an Alpha as a PXE server.

Any VAX/AXP/IA64 system with TCP/IP installed can be configured as a TFTP server.
If your PC will TFTP boot, you probably just need to configure that image into the TFTP server.

Most Linux systems can have the cobbler program installed to be a PXE server.

Some PCs have an internal USB socket or you can get adapters to to connect up a USB drive or sdcard as an internal hard drive.

I would look for an sdcard adapter that allows you to set the device read-only.

You can set that as the boot drive, and then you have to figure out how to get it to boot your OS.
Author RE: old etherworks3 turbo mopboot : how to emulate ?
stefe67
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 20.12.17
Posted on February 06 2018 21:45
thank you !
Author RE: old etherworks3 turbo mopboot : how to emulate ?
johnklos
Member

Posts: 5
Location: California, USA, Earth
Joined: 30.09.16
Posted on February 20 2018 15:43
NetBSD has a MOP daemon built in. It's incredibly simple to set up and configure, and it could run on anything, such as a Raspberry Pi. Perhaps that'll work for you.


--
http://vax.zia.io/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
V6.1

Shoutbox Archive