Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, June 13, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 8
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | OpenVMS Hobbyist Media Kits | OpenVMS Alpha Media Kits
Author Installation on AS600: Crash while configuring I/O board
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on February 27 2007 12:26
Well, tried to install OpenVMS on my... khmmm... resurrected AlphaStation (see my post on comp.sys.dec), but PKQDRIVER bails out:
[code:1:9f9d412ecf]PKQDRIVER-W- PKB0, Port Shutdown due to numerous or serious ctrlr errors.[/code:1:9f9d412ecf]
Then there's BUGCHECK with the message[code:1:9f9d412ecf]INCONSTATE, Inconsistent I/O database[/code:1:9f9d412ecf]
Grepped in groups that it might be because VMS is issuing commands the I/O
controller doesn't understand. What can I do?

Rambo
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 27 2007 17:22
Sounds like it's an unsupported controller. What does a SHOW DEVICE provide for the details for your controllers?
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on February 28 2007 03:55
[quote:831b907bb8="HobbyistOne"]Sounds like it's an unsupported controller. What does a SHOW DEVICE provide for the details for your controllers?[/quote:831b907bb8]
[code:1:831b907bb8]DKB0.0.0.1002.0 DKB0 RZ1CC-BA 883F
DKB500.5.0.1002.0 DKB500 RRD45 1645
[... snip CPU and EWA-C]
PKA0.7.0.1001.0 PKA0 SCSI Bus ID 7 5.57
PKA0.7.0.1002.0 PKB0 SCSI Bus ID 7 5.57[/code:1:831b907bb8]
There you go- there was also a Symbios Logic SE SCSI card, but it's now removed and the thing doesn't change anything.
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 28 2007 04:07
What's connected to PKB0? Is it properly terminated?

SCSI requires a termination at both ends of the bus, though typically, the controller provides the termination of that end of the bus. With a BA35X, there is a terminator block inside the case (which can be moved to provide a split bus, or removed for an unterminated bus for chaining to other devices.
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on February 28 2007 08:44
Big update
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The good news is that after switching cables (PKB to PKA), the VMS installation ran smoothly. My question is now: how will the system react on drastic hardware downgrade (EV5->EV4, AS600->DEC2000/300).
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on March 08 2007 00:04
you can take an image backup of that system and run it on a older system and often it can be fine.
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author Downgrades are okay
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on March 08 2007 02:46
OpenVMS is famously backward compatible. If your new hardware is running OpenVMS, the same disk image will run on older hardware, too. The only likely gotchas are going to be disk device naming, but logicals can take care of that!
Author Re: Downgrades are okay
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on March 13 2007 11:55
[quotesmiley1d85574e8="HobbyistOne"]OpenVMS is famously backward compatible. If your new hardware is running OpenVMS, the same disk image will run on older hardware, too. The only likely gotchas are going to be disk device naming, but logicals can take care of that![/quotesmiley1d85574e8]
Turns out Jensen is an exception again smiley
Got VMS running on an 2 Gig WD disk, installed filesets, and removed the thing after reboot, before AUTOGEN- after putting it into Jensen GETDATA runs ok, but GENPARAMS stage bails out with a nasty error about "inproperly handled condition" (hard to see- scrolls too fast).
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on March 13 2007 17:52
That's probably one of the tools for gathering feedback and such. If you can, catch the output of AUTOGEN with:

$ @SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN <start> <end> /OUTPUT=AUTOGEN.LOG

That should log the output of the failure, and hopefully track it down. Hopefully, it's just a bug in the feedback stuff, and you can avoid that with ading "NOFEEDBACK" as a third arguement to AUTOGEN
Author
ItsMeOnly
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 13.02.07
Posted on March 14 2007 00:08
[quote:ff7b317ac0="HobbyistOne"]That's probably one of the tools for gathering feedback and such. If you can, catch the output of AUTOGEN with:

$ @SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN <start> <end> /OUTPUT=AUTOGEN.LOG

That should log the output of the failure, and hopefully track it down. Hopefully, it's just a bug in the feedback stuff, and you can avoid that with ading "NOFEEDBACK" as a third arguement to AUTOGEN[/quote:ff7b317ac0]
You'll unfortunately have to tell me how to do that , I'm getting "process logged out" message and stats- but no prompt smiley
21221452 m_roguski@yahoo.com m_roguski http://rambo.id.uw.edu.pl
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on March 14 2007 02:05
try
$ @SYS$UPDATE:AUTOGEN GETDATA TESTFILES NOFEEDBACK
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive