Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, April 25, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyists and OpenVMS | Introduction Forum
Author Teaching an Old Dog new tricks
drchrist68

Posted on March 24 2013 01:05
Greetings from another VMS newb!

I'm a seasoned sysadmin having spent a couple decades managing Windows and various flavors of 'Nix. Most of my early computer training was on VAX/VMS and and IBM System/34 (SSP). The modern systems are wonderful and thankfully keep me employed, but I recall the older systems I learned on seemed to be so stable and reliable. Recently I've become interested in computing history and came looking for a way to revisit the past as sort of a hobby. Thus, I was pleased to learn of the OpenVMS Hobbyist program.

I'm currently running OpenVMS Alpha 8.4 on AlphaVM_Free on top of Debian 6. This is by far one of the most straightforward setups of any emulator I've used.

It has been a blast to learn so far, especially the process of smoothing out a few of the bumps along the way:

-License PAKs not loading properly; I ended up copying/pasting each command in its entirety into DCL in order to get the licenses registered. Only later did I discover that I needed to tweak my terminal emulation because it was mangling the file when I tried to execute it.

-Networking not starting at boot; found the proper line to un-comment in the startup file and all is well.

-New user cannot login via ssh because password is already expired; was able to login via telnet to change password, then ssh worked.

-X-forwarding works like a charm (ssh -Y), but need to recreate the X Authority file on the Alpha every time; still working on that one.