Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, August 15, 2022
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,660
Newest Member: jdevries
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author Maximum memory that can be used?
alexbuell
Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 27.09.10
Posted on October 06 2010 09:39
I recently tried to boot VMS 5.3 with 512MB and could not get to boot until I reduced the RAM to 128MB. at that point it booted perfectly. OpenVMS 7.3 booted without any problems with 512MB.

What is the maximum memory simh-vax can handle?

Thanks!
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
astrodanco
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04.03.10
Posted on November 10 2010 12:17
512MB works fine here with SIMH 3.8-1.

Here is the contents of my SIMH boot script (do boot from simh> prompt):

set cpu 512m
set cpu conhalt
set cpu idle
set lpt disable
set tq disable
set rq0 rauser=8000
attach rq0 vaxvms073.dsk
set rq1 rrd40
attach -r rq1 vaxvms073.iso
set dz lines=4
attach -am dz 1025
show xq eth
set xq mac=00-24-8C-A1-DC-D0
attach xq0 eth2
b cpu
Edited by astrodanco on November 10 2010 12:17
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 108
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on November 11 2010 01:22
This is likely to be VMS version dependent. I will try to look this up, but V5.3 is very old and may not support the full 512MB. Realize that the VAX 8700/8800 was the first to actually be able to have 512MB of real memory. Prior to that, I'm not sure if the hardware structures could handle "real" memory sizes over 128MB. Stay tuned. I'll look up in the release notes (I think I still have them.)

Dan
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
kzsolt
Member

Posts: 14
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Joined: 08.10.09
Posted on March 13 2011 03:44
smiley I Have the problem with OpenVMS 7.3. I can increase the memory to 128m or 256m or 512m, I see it on autoboot vax console, but looks like VMS does not recognize it. The show memory always tell 64M. Just for sure if I decrease it to 32m, then I show 32M on show memory result.

Remark: The PHYSICALPAGES default value is 1048576 and the current is 131072.
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
VolkerHalle
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 103
Location: Germany
Joined: 02.04.10
Posted on March 13 2011 06:45
The PHYSICALPAGES system parameters controls the useable physical memory in OpenVMS VAX. Consider to run AUTOGEN to get the correct value set for PHYSICALPAGES or increase the parameter yourself with a conversational boot.

Volker.
http://www.invenate.de
Author RE: Maximum memory that can be used?
kzsolt
Member

Posts: 14
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Joined: 08.10.09
Posted on March 14 2011 11:58
Thank you!

smiley For me the:
1. set def sys$update
2. @autogen getdata reboot nofeedback
form was the winner...
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive