Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, October 28, 2021
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 1
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,599
Newest Member: DrFalken
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on May 29 2011 23:16
Hi, I'm new to this forum, though I've come across some discussions while looking for answers to SimH and emulated VAX issues.

Recently I tried to port an existing CHARON disk images (system and user) to SimH, and was able to boot successfully and login/shutdown from SYSTEM.

However when I tried logging in as a user [NKT], I encountered this error:
%DCL-E-OPENIN, error opening FACTAM$SYSTEM:[NKT]EFTUSYM.COM; as input
-RMS-F-DEV, error in device name or inappropriate device type for operation

When I tried a DIR command, I got the same error. Can anyone advise me on the possible source of problem? Thank you.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on May 29 2011 23:37
I almost forgot. The following is the SimH script I used:

et cpu 64m
load -r vax\ka655.bin
set rl disable
set lpt disable
set tq disable
set rq0 ra92
att rq0 mv36sys.dsk
set -L rq1 rauser=8500000
att -e rq1 ate.dsk
set console telnet=23
set xq MAC=08-00-2b-aa-bb-cc
att xq eth0
boot cpu

I use Putty for my console, linking it to localhost via Port 23. The two disk images are:

mv36sys.dsk 1,381,977,600 bytes
ate.dsk 4,290,600,960 bytes

When I did a SHOW DEVICE only the mv36sys.dsk was mounted. The ate.dsk was online.

How do I mount such a large disk image? RAUSER didn't seem to work in my case.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 599
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 30 2011 04:30
Most likely, your disk device names have changed. SimH is presenting a DUAn device. Was your Charon device DKA0? Check your VMS start up procedures for physical disk references and change them to match the "new" disk.

Note: Your network device will change as well. You will need to reconfigure DECnet and TCP/IP to recognize the "new" device.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
martinv2
Member

Posts: 107
Location: Goslar, Germany
Joined: 02.10.07
Posted on May 30 2011 19:29
The error message says that the device FACTAM$SYSTEM: references cannot be found.
Possible reasons:
- The logical name FACTAM$SYSTEM isn't defined (check with SHOW LOGICAL FACTAM$SYSTEM).
- The device that FACTAM$SYSTEM resolves to cannot be found.
- The device that FACTAM$SYSTEM resolves to exists, but isn't mounted (not sure about this one).

HTH
Martin


http://de.openvms.org/martinv/
http://de.openvms.org/martinv/
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 03 2011 20:17
Hi Bruce and Martin. Thanks for the replies. I've managed to boot and mount ATE.dsk as DUA1 after I performed a BACKUP/IMAGE to a smaller RA90 disk file which I created.
The problem I faced now is while the mount is successful, SimH doesn't seem to emulate the TXA0 and TXA1 lines, resulting in some part of the boot-up script unable to complete properly and I ended up with the same problem when I issue a DIR command.
Anyone knows how to fix the TXA0 and TXA1 with SimH? Many thanks!
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 03 2011 20:26
Below is part of the boot-up messages for your examination:

The VAX/VMS system is now executing the host-specific startup commands.

Mounting RA90

%MOUNT-I-MOUNTED, ATE mounted on _$1$DUA1: (MV3DN)
Starting laser printer queue ps

%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying TXA0:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-E-NOTSET, error modifying TXA0:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying TXA1:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-E-NOTSET, error modifying TXA1:
-SYSTEM-W-NOSUCHDEV, no such device available
%SET-I-INTSET, login interactive limit = 64, current interactive value = 0
4-JUN-2011 14:14:59
%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 4-JUN-2011 14:15:01.90 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user DECNET on MV3DN
DECnet event 4.10, circuit up
From node 3.2 (MV3DN), 4-JUN-2011 14:14:56.60
Circuit QNA-0


%STARTVWS-I-NOSTART, SYSGEN WINDOW_SYSTEM parameter precludes VWS startup
SYSTEM job terminated at 4-JUN-2011 14:15:02.29

Accounting information:
Buffered I/O count: 1276 Peak working set size: 659
Direct I/O count: 711 Peak page file size: 3416
Page faults: 10016 Mounted volumes: 1
Charged CPU time: 0 00:00:07.61 Elapsed time: 0 00:00:17.97
Author RE: Unable to DIR
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 599
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on June 04 2011 03:36
The TXA messages are just warning and should not be interfering with the overall boot process. Define a serial device to create TXA devices:

;
; Set up 8 serial ports
;
set vh enable
attach vh 10000




You can try a SET NOON in the SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM procedure to ignore errors on boot.

Post your Charon configuration file.
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 05 2011 20:46
Thanks Bruce for the reply. My Charon configuration file listing:

set session hw_model="MicroVAX_3600"
set session log="charon.log" log_method="overwrite"
set toy container="charon.dat"

set cpu ace_mode=true
set ram size=128

load virtual_serial_line/chserial OPA0 port=10003 application
="c:\putty\putty.exe telnet://localhost:10003"
set uart line=OPA0
set OPA0 break_on="Ctrl-P, BREAK"

load RQDX3/RQDX3 DUA
set DUA container[0] = "C:\VDISK\MV36SYS.vdisk"
set DUA container[1] = "C:\VDISK\ATE.vdisk"

load TQK50/TQK50 MUA
set MUA container[0]="C:\VDISK\TAPE0.vtape"

load DELQA/DEQNA XQA
load ndis5_chpack_port/chnetwrk XQA0 interface
="3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Complete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)"
set XQA interface=XQA0

load DHV11/DHV11 TXA
load physical_serial_line/chserial TXA0 line="COM1:"
set TXA line[0]=TXA0
load physical_serial_line/chserial TXA1 line="COM2:"
set TXA line[1]=TXA1

set bdr boot=auto
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 05 2011 20:52
The boot-up message for Charon is as follow (in contrast to SimH's shown in my earlier post):

The VAX/VMS system is now executing the host-specific startup commands.

Mounting RA90

%MOUNT-I-MOUNTED, ATE mounted on _$1$DUA1: (MV3DN)
Starting laser printer queue ps

Staring SYS$BATCH

Set terminals for CS/200

%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying DUA0:
-CLI-E-IVDEVTYPE, invalid device type - specify a mailbox device
%SET-W-NOTSET, error modifying DUA0:
-CLI-E-IVDEVTYPE, invalid device type - specify a mailbox device
Starting TCP/IP

inetload: loading configuration file twg$tcp:[netdist.etc]config.net
inetload: Hardware Model #: 25

inetload: Using key 0-uwi7rbw-jlqk2ir-8xmkxoy
inetload: Loading twg$tcp:[netdist.etc]inet.exe (0x2f200 bytes)
inetload: twg$tcp:[netdist.etc]inet.exe loaded and started at 0x8021f600

%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 6-JUN-2011 07:58:40.72 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user INTERNETWORK on MV3DN
Maximum WIN/TCP memory allocation is 256K

%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 0000010F
%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 6-JUN-2011 07:58:51.12 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user SYSTEM on MV3DN
enet<->inet: ep0 is XQA with ethernet address aa:0:4:0:2:c

%%%%%%%%%%% OPCOM 6-JUN-2011 07:59:10.54 %%%%%%%%%%%
Message from user DECNET on MV3DN
DECnet event 4.15, adjacency up
From node 3.2 (MV3DN), 6-JUN-2011 07:59:10.54
Circuit QNA-0, Adjacent node = 3.1 (V785DN)


%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000110

*******************************************************
* WIN/TCP Network Started Successfully *
*******************************************************

Starting EFTU logical and installation

Starting up EFTU process

%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000111
Starting PMS

%DCL-I-SUPERSEDE, previous value of MB$USER has been superseded
%RUN-S-PROC_ID, identification of created process is 00000112
%SET-I-INTSET, login interactive limit = 64, current interactive value = 0
6-JUN-2011 07:59:16
%DECW-W-NODEVICE, No graphics device found on this system
-DECW-I-NODECW, DECwindows graphics drivers will not be loaded
%STARTVWS-I-NOSTART, SYSGEN WINDOW_SYSTEM parameter precludes VWS startup
SYSTEM job terminated at 6-JUN-2011 07:59:19.24

Accounting information:
Buffered I/O count: 1841 Peak working set size: 597
Direct I/O count: 1134 Peak page file size: 3416
Page faults: 18213 Mounted volumes: 1
Charged CPU time: 0 00:00:04.69 Elapsed time: 0 00:00:53.74
Author RE: Unable to DIR
ngkt2581
Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 29.05.11
Posted on June 05 2011 21:56
Hi Bruce, guess what? After implementing the serial port fix you suggested, SimH boots successfully and now I can actually log in as a user and access all the software development environment!
Thanks for your help! Not forgetting Martin, whose presence in the OpenVMS forum has been encouraging... Kudos to you guys! smiley
Author RE: Unable to DIR
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 599
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on June 06 2011 03:53
Very good. I see you were using the RQDX controller in Charon, so my comments regarding disk naming were a red herring. Sorry for that.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
V6.1

Shoutbox Archive