Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, January 28, 2022
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 10
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,623
Newest Member: alleahmarcina30
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author SimH Network problem
ndfspeed1971
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01.03.12
Posted on April 10 2012 10:36
Hello,

I have SimH and OpenVMS configured and need to get the ethernet to work. I am working on a Ubuntu machine 10.10. I installed Putty and I can not connect to the OpenVMS VAX. I think SimH is having a problem configuring the network adapter correctly.

I downloaded simh with ethernet support. Then I got Libpcap package to build the simh. Once I got the exe for simH done and installed OpenVMS I configured UCX in OpenVMS. I cant get putty to connect to OpenVMS from my linux machine. Sound like SimH is not working correctly.


Here is my vax.ini file.
***************************************************
; Load CPU microcode
load -r /home/x/software/simh/BIN/OpenVMS_Vax/ka655x.bin
;
; Attach non-volatile RAM to a file
attach nvr /home/x/software/simh/BIN/OpenVMS_Vax/nvram.bin
;
; This virtual machine has 64M memory
set cpu 64m
;
; Define disk drive types. RA92 is largest-supported VAX drive.
set rq0 ra92
set rq1 ra92
set rq2 cdrom
set rq3 cdrom
;
; Attach defined drives to local files
attach rq0 /home/x/software/simh/BIN/OpenVMS_Vax/d0.dsk
attach rq1 /home/x/software/simh/BIN/OpenVMS_Vax/d1.dsk
;
; Attach the ISO images of drives to its file (read-only)
attach -r rq2 /home/x/software/simh/BIN/OpenVMS_Vax/vaxdisk1.iso
attach -r rq3 /home/x/software/simh/BIN/OpenVMS_Vax/vaxvmscd.iso


; Disable unused devices. It's also possible to disable individual devices,
; using a construction like "set rq2 disable" if desired.
;
set rl disable
set ts disable
;
; Attach Ethernet to a network interface
set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
attach xq eth0
;
; Now start the emulator
boot cpu
*************************************************

So when i boot into the the SimH VAX.

VAX simulator V3.8-1
NVR: buffering file in memory
RQ: unit is read only
RQ: unit is read only
Eth: opened eth0


KA655-B V5.3, VMB 2.7
Performing normal system tests.
40..39..38..37..36..35..34..33..32..31..30..29..28..27..26..25..
24..23..22..21..20..19..18..17..16..15..14..13..12..11..10..09..
08..07..06..05..04..03..
Tests completed.

I do a show of the Ethernet devices and nothing comes up.

>>>show xq eth0
?35 ARG OVERF

I used the default mac address: 08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC. Is this a problem? Do I use the mac address from my network card instead of the default mac address?

I didnt specify a port number in the vax.ini file. Is that a problem? Can I do that?

What can be the problem?

Do I need to do something in linux?
Author RE: SimH Network problem
ndfspeed1971
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01.03.12
Posted on April 11 2012 04:01
I had a problem with Libpcap not being installed. So I installed it on the linux machine from the linux distro package. But still have the problem of getting libpcap to run under simh.

I did a:
sim> at xq ?
ETH devices:
0 eth0 (No description available)
Select device (ethX or <device_name>smiley? ethX
File open error


Is there a way to get libpcap to initiate in SimH. I did compile with the network option enabled when I origially started the project.

Thanks
Author RE: SimH Network problem
ndfspeed1971
Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01.03.12
Posted on April 11 2012 05:21
Ok I am looking into building SimH again with network configuration. I am trying to compile with libpcap.a.dylib but that is not located on my Ubuntu Linux 10.10 machine. How can I get this file to install? I installed the Libpcap file libpcap0.8-dev_1.1.1-2_i386.deb. Do I need the libpcap.a.dylib for the make file or can I just use the libpcap.a instead?

Currently I have the vax running with the libpcap.a compiled and its not working with simH. Is this the problem?
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

Shoutbox Archive