Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesFriday, January 28, 2022
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 15
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,623
Newest Member: alleahmarcina30
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author SIMH Not saving changes to second hard disk?
Spintronic
Member

Posts: 3
Location: Arizona
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on February 18 2014 07:20
Hi,
I'm new to SIMH and OpenVMS. I'm running simh-4.0-Beta--2014-01-23-9ab6c4d1 on Windows. My vax.ini is setup as follows:

;Load the processor ROM
;load -r /Users/marcus/vax/ka655x.bin
;Create and attach a file for emulated NVRAM
;attach nvr /Users/marcus/vax/nvram.bin
;Give the emulator 64 MB RAM
set cpu 256m
set cpu idle
set throttle 100%
;Define two RA92 drives, largest drives supported on VAX, and a CDROM.
set rq0 ra92
set rq1 ra92
set rq2 cdrom
;Attach defined drives to local files
attach rq0 d0.dsk
attach rq1 d1.dsk
;Attach the CDROM to the VMS iso in read only-mode
attach -r rq2 vms.iso
; Disable unused devices.
set rl disable
set ts disable
;Attach networking. Change en0 to the name of your NIC (eth0 in Linux for instance)
set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
set CONSOLE TELNET=1
attach xq eth1
;Boot the CPU
SET CPU CONHALT
DEP BDR 0
BOOT CPU
EXIT

I have the most recent OpenVMS VAX system installed successfully. My question is, I mount rq1 with the commands:

$ INITIALIZE DUA1: DATA1
$ MOUNT/SYSTEM DUA1 DATA1

And proceed to transfer files over. When I reboot the system all the files are gone! Am I doing something wrong? rq0 is staying persistent.

Thanks,
Jovan
Author RE: I think I know why
Spintronic
Member

Posts: 3
Location: Arizona
Joined: 12.03.08
Posted on February 18 2014 10:39
Nevemind it's because I keep calling "INITIALIZE DUA1: DATA1" that my data disappears, duh!

Spintronic wrote:
Hi,
I'm new to SIMH and OpenVMS. I'm running simh-4.0-Beta--2014-01-23-9ab6c4d1 on Windows. My vax.ini is setup as follows:

;Load the processor ROM
;load -r /Users/marcus/vax/ka655x.bin
;Create and attach a file for emulated NVRAM
;attach nvr /Users/marcus/vax/nvram.bin
;Give the emulator 64 MB RAM
set cpu 256m
set cpu idle
set throttle 100%
;Define two RA92 drives, largest drives supported on VAX, and a CDROM.
set rq0 ra92
set rq1 ra92
set rq2 cdrom
;Attach defined drives to local files
attach rq0 d0.dsk
attach rq1 d1.dsk
;Attach the CDROM to the VMS iso in read only-mode
attach -r rq2 vms.iso
; Disable unused devices.
set rl disable
set ts disable
;Attach networking. Change en0 to the name of your NIC (eth0 in Linux for instance)
set xq mac=08-00-2B-AA-BB-CC
set CONSOLE TELNET=1
attach xq eth1
;Boot the CPU
SET CPU CONHALT
DEP BDR 0
BOOT CPU
EXIT

I have the most recent OpenVMS VAX system installed successfully. My question is, I mount rq1 with the commands:

$ INITIALIZE DUA1: DATA1
$ MOUNT/SYSTEM DUA1 DATA1

And proceed to transfer files over. When I reboot the system all the files are gone! Am I doing something wrong? rq0 is staying persistent.

Thanks,
Jovan

Edited by Spintronic on February 18 2014 10:40
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

Shoutbox Archive