Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, November 29, 2021
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,607
Newest Member: phatoes
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | Emulated VAX Forum
Author Getting network access working in SIMH Vax
Dutchman2000
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01.04.20
Posted on April 06 2020 19:54
I'm trying to get my windows machines to see the SIMH Vax but I can;t seem to get it working. Any tips? Ultimately I need to transfer data from the emulated VAX to my windows desktop.

What is the easiest way to do this?
Author RE: Getting network access working in SIMH Vax
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 606
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on April 07 2020 04:19
The easiest way is to use two NICs. Disable Windows network services on the NIC assigned to SimH VAX.
Author RE: Getting network access working in SIMH Vax
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 527
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on April 16 2020 13:33
I use virtualbox with a small linux instance and then run SimH in that Linux instance.

Allows you to have 4 NICs on the Linux VM.

Nic 1. Bridge to your primary network interface for Linux to reach your outside network.
Nic 2. Internal network for Linux VM to SimH and to Window host system.
Nic 3. Bridge to your primary network interface for SimH/VAX to reach your outside network
Nic 3. Internal network for SimH to Linux and Windows.
Author RE: Getting network access working in SIMH Vax
sgcyphers
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 25.04.20
Posted on July 03 2020 14:32
Bruce's two NIC idea works. I also use a 5-port Switch and plug the two NICs into it to reduce network traffic on the rest of my network.

I have found "cookbooks" on how to set up SIMH on Linux (and OSX and R-Pi) but nothing for setting up SIMH on Windows 10 (Windows 10 removed the NDIS5 drivers, so you need npcap instead of WinPcap).
When I get a couple of solutions figured out, I hope to write a SIMH/Windows10 Cookbook and post it somewhere useful.
I've been banging my head long enough, I'm even considering mr. malmberg's option!
Author RE: Getting network access working in SIMH Vax
malmberg
Moderator

Posts: 527
Joined: 15.04.08
Posted on August 29 2020 09:37
I run SimH/VAX in an LxD container, where the LXD handles all the networking.

Somewhere on the Sourceforge VMSPORTS project WIKI are more details.

Ubuntu 16 originally broke LXD for privileged containers. I do not know if they fixed it.

Will be trying soon Lxd on a Raspberry PI.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

jiml
July 11 2020
ssh to eisner is now giving (on linux) "WARNING: REMOTE HOST IDENTIFICATION HAS CHANGED!" , Has the server key in fact changed ? Of WHO can we ask that somewhere on the eisner webpage they

wyan
May 06 2020
Turns out I had an account here, it still was set to my location a decade ago, so hey, I'm back after over a decade!

Hein
April 21 2020
Hi all, haven't been here in years. Good to see it is all there still. I'm looking around at the forum to stop/start msipcap - 'could not be stopped' - for now. I'll shutdown FreeA

EstesDave
January 09 2020
does anyone have or know of DRB32 manuals

romaxmaniax
November 04 2019
V6.1

Shoutbox Archive