Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, June 13, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | FreeAXP
Author Running with only one NIC
wyan
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Leon, Spain
Joined: 28.03.06
Posted on May 19 2020 00:31
Hi, I posted this one originally on the Emulated Alpha subforum but can't move it here myself, apologies for reposting.

I've been trying to get networking working on FreeAXP for a few days now, following the User's Guide and this forum. All with no luck so far.

My configuration is as follows: Internet on the Windows host is provided by a WiFi dongle. There is an available Ethernet port, but no possibility to actually cable it anywhere. npcap is installed.

I've tried using npcap as FreeAXP's NIC, as well as Wifi directly, bridging the virtual and wifi networks, bridging the ethernet port and wifi, all both using static IP & letting OpenVMS configure itself via DHCP. In no case have I been able to get any ping outside the VMS box.

What is the procedure to get it working in this setup? Is there a way to set up networking easily, just as the new NAT interface does on SIMH?

Thanks
Author RE: Running with only one NIC
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 623
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 19 2020 03:52
Under the NIC tab, set the MAC address to match that of the WiFi NIC.
Author RE: Running with only one NIC
wyan
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Leon, Spain
Joined: 28.03.06
Posted on May 19 2020 13:15
Thank you, this solved the first half of the problem – now VMS can see my home network perfectly!

However, I can't reach any IP outside the local home network. The gateway on VMS is configured to be the same as the LAN gateway, is this the correct way?
Author RE: Running with only one NIC
Bruce Claremont
Moderator

Posts: 623
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on May 20 2020 03:46
I would say yes, the gateway should be the same. Make sure your masks (255.255...) are set correctly.
Author RE: Running with only one NIC
wyan
Member

Posts: 11
Location: Leon, Spain
Joined: 28.03.06
Posted on May 20 2020 09:35
Thanks! Rebooting the Windows host seems to have solved this, I can now talk to the outside from the emulated Alpha. Can't yet talk to the Alpha from the outside though, but haven't had the chance to investigate this.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive