Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, May 22, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author Alpha station 255 hardware compatability
Anthony Reeder
Member

Posts: 3
Location: Western Australia
Joined: 29.01.06
Posted on February 23 2006 21:20
I have an alphastation 255 running openVMS V7.1. I am trying to sort out my backup options. I have a TLZ06 cassette tape drive connected via a StorageWorks expansion unit. The tape drive is connected with a SCSI ID = 1. The computer recognises it but fails to drive it. Either the tape drive isnt compatable with my system or it has died. The tape drive was running successfuly on my old DEC 3000/300 axp. Can someone advise me if in theory this tape drive can be run on my system.

Thank you in advance

Tony
http://www.chem.biomedchem.uwa.edu.au/
Author TLZ06 should be recognized by V7.1
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 24 2006 04:08
Sounds to me like it should work. Could it be a problem with the Storage Works unit? What model is it? And of course, are you sure there isn't another unit 1 one the bus? smiley
Author
imiller
Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 277
Location: UK
Joined: 24.02.06
Posted on February 24 2006 05:35
what error message do you get when trying read/write to the tape drive?
http://www.encompasserve.org/~miller/
Author TLZ06
Anthony Reeder
Member

Posts: 3
Location: Western Australia
Joined: 29.01.06
Posted on February 26 2006 22:14
The storage works exapnsion unit is the one that came with the DEC300/3000. It is a BA353-Ax. I am not sure if I have a SCSI ID address clash. I did try changing it to 4 and 5 but the computer then did not recognise it. Is there a way to discover the SCSI address of the units present on the computer?

The error mesage i got on an attempted mount was
%mount-F-volinv volume is not software enabled

I was trying a new tape when this message was generated and this may be related to that.

when asking for a show device/full for mka100 under volume status it says no-unload on dismount, beginning-of-tape, odd parity.

I interrogated the error-log file using analyze/error_log. I appear to be getting two types of error 1) error type 03 command transmission failure and 2) error type 05 extended sense data received.

I hope this answers the replies I had.

Thank you in advance, Tony
http://www.chem.biomedchem.uwa.edu.au/
Author Re: TLZ06
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on February 27 2006 04:04
[quote:5db751f85d="Anthony Reeder"]The storage works exapnsion unit is the one that came with the DEC300/3000. It is a BA353-Ax. I am not sure if I have a SCSI ID address clash. I did try changing it to 4 and 5 but the computer then did not recognise it. Is there a way to discover the SCSI address of the units present on the computer?[/quote:5db751f85d]

The StorageWorks pizza box, should be okay. Are there any other devices in the BA353? Are they having problems? It could be a bad SCSI cable (I've had a couple fail before). Often, the hard drives are SCSI 2/3, CDROM is SCSI 4, and tape is SCSI 5. The Alpha itself should be SCSI ID 7. If you are at the >>> prompt, you should be able to do a SHOW DEV and see all your devices, and SCSI ID listed. If not, you do have a conflict.

You might try moving the TLZ06 do another slot in the box, too.
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive