Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesWednesday, May 29, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 11
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author DECnet TASKs
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on June 29 2011 11:05
This seems like an odd behavior, though there must be an explanation for it.

Sample script CANIS::SHOWSYS.COM:

$ DEFINE SYS$OUTPUT SYS$NET
$ SHOW SYSTEM
$ EXIT

When the above is executed from node VULPES by this command

$ TYPE CANIS::"TASK=SHOWSYS"

it works as I expect, displaying the output of "SHOW SYSTEM" at the initiating terminal on the VULPES node where the command was issued.

However, the sample script CANIS::SHOWDEV.COM:

$ DEFINE SYS$OUTPUT SYS$NET
$ SHOW DEVICE DU
$ EXIT

When the above sample is executed from another node by the similar command

$ TYPE CANIS::"TASK=SHOWDEV"

produces no output at all, and times out for that reason.

The command SHOW DEVICE DU when issued interactively on node CANIS by the same user works without any issues, showing the mount information and allocations on all devices starting with DU. There are only three (DUA0, DUA1, and DUA3.)

What is the difference between the two commands that this happens? (Proxies are in place and working to equate the same user account on both nodes.)
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Author RE: DECnet TASKs
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 623
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on June 30 2011 03:54
Can you execute a command like DIR CANIS:: from the remote node with issues. You may need to check your proxy settings on both nodes.
Author RE: DECnet TASKs
Altivo
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 86
Location: Illinois
Joined: 26.05.07
Posted on July 01 2011 15:24
Yup.

DIR CANIS:: works fine from VULPES and
DIR VULPES:: works fine from CANIS.

The SHOWSYS.COM script works on both nodes when executed from the other as a task.

The SHOWDEV.COM script fails on both nodes when executed from the other as a task.

I think it must have something to do with specifics of the SHOW DEV command, but I can't imagine what unless, like some odd UNIX commands, SHOW DEV writes its output to something other than SYS$OUTPUT. (Some UNIX commands write their normal output to the error stream rather than to the default output.)
http://altivo.dreamwidth.org/
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive