Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesMonday, January 30, 2023
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,681
Newest Member: MrManul
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | VAX Systems Forums | VAX Software Forum
Author Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 16 2017 04:10
Hi,

Can I mount an AXP OpenVMS (7.11H2) disk in a VAX virtual machine (SimH)?
It complains about something and mount was unsuccesfull. :-(

AXP disk is a VMS boot disk what I want to examine without booting it. I search some file ...

TIA,
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 620
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on September 17 2017 03:22
Unless the disk is too large for the version of VAX VMS you are running or is set up as ODS-5, it should mount without issue. Make sure you have the sizing parameters right in the SimH configuration file.
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 19 2017 04:04
Hi,

The image size is 4GB. (HSZ22)

How can I check the ODS version? I'm not an VMS expert ...

I will check soon the output of mount command. I think it will give some more information the error message.

TIA,
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
abrsvc
Member

Posts: 108
Joined: 12.03.10
Posted on September 19 2017 13:15
I would suspect that the disk label was incorrect or not known at the time of mounting. Try the following command variant:

MOUNT/OVER=ID

This should mount the disk to your process without having to know the disk label.

Given that this is a V7.1-1h1 disk, I doubt that it is an ODS5 disk.

Dan
Edited by abrsvc on September 20 2017 01:12
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 19 2017 19:38
Hi,

Mount under FreeAXP:
$ mount/over=id dka300
%MOUNT-I-MOUNTED, ALPHA_711H2 mounted on _AXP1$DKA300:

$ sh dev dka300

Device Device Error Volume Free Trans Mnt
Name Status Count Label Blocks Count Cnt
AXP1$DKA300: Mounted alloc 0 ALPHA_711H2 1958886 1 1
$ sh dev dka300 /full

Disk AXP1$DKA300:, device type HSZ22, is online, allocated, deallocate on
dismount, mounted, file-oriented device, shareable, available to cluster,
error logging is enabled.

Error count 0 Operations completed 38
Owner process "SYSTEM" Owner UIC [SYSTEM]
Owner process ID 00000099 Dev Prot S:RWPL,O:RWPL,G:R,W
Reference count 2 Default buffer size 512
Total blocks 8385121 Sectors per track 61
Total cylinders 1361 Tracks per cylinder 101
Logical Volume Size 8385121 Expansion Size Limit 8589312

Volume label "ALPHA_711H2" Relative volume number 0
Cluster size 9 Transaction count 1
Free blocks 1958886 Maximum files allowed 444446
Extend quantity 5 Mount count 1
Mount status Process Cache name "_AXP1$DKA0:XQPCACHE"
Extent cache size 64 Max blocks in extent cache 195888
File ID cache size 64 Blocks in extent cache 0
Quota cache size 0 Maximum buffers in FCP cache 574
Volume owner UIC [1,1] Vol Prot S:RWCD,O:RWCD,G:RWCD,W:RWCD

Volume Status: ODS-2, subject to mount verification, file high-water marking,
write-through XFC caching enabled, write-back XQP caching enabled.

So as I can see it is ODS-2. Is that true?

Soon I'll try to install a 7.x OpenVMS in SimH VAX and try to mount it again.

TIA,
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 19 2017 20:28
Hi,

This is the output from VAX mount:

$ mount /over=id dua3
%MOUNT-W-IDXHDRBAD, index file header is bad; backup used
%MOUNT-F-ILLBLKNUM, illegal logical block number

$ sh sys
OpenVMS V7.3 on node VAX1 20-SEP-2017 08:17:11.90 Uptime 0 00:05:04
...
$ sh dev dua0 /full

Disk VAX1$DUA0:, device type RA92, is online, mounted, file-oriented device,
shareable, available to cluster, error logging is enabled.

Error count 0 Operations completed 2588
Owner process "" Owner UIC [SYSTEM]
Owner process ID 00000000 Dev Prot S:RWPL,O:RWPL,G:R,W
Reference count 42 Default buffer size 512
Total blocks 2940951 Sectors per track 73
Total cylinders 3099 Tracks per cylinder 13

Volume label "OVMSVAXSYS" Relative volume number 0
Cluster size 9 Transaction count 151
Free blocks 2377629 Maximum files allowed 147047
Extend quantity 5 Mount count 1
Mount status System Cache name "_VAX1$DUA0:XQPCACHE"
Extent cache size 64 Maximum blocks in extent cache 237762
File ID cache size 64 Blocks currently in extent cache 237663
Quota cache size 0 Maximum buffers in FCP cache 1141
Volume owner UIC [1,1] Vol Prot S:RWCD,O:RWCD,G:RWCD,W:RWCD

Volume Status: ODS-2, subject to mount verification, protected subsystems
enabled, file high-water marking, write-through caching enabled.

$ sh dev dua3 /full

Disk VAX1$DUA3:, device type RA92, is online, file-oriented device, shareable,
available to cluster, error logging is enabled.

Error count 0 Operations completed 6
Owner process "" Owner UIC [SYSTEM]
Owner process ID 00000000 Dev Prot S:RWPL,O:RWPL,G:R,W
Reference count 0 Default buffer size 512
Total blocks 2940951 Sectors per track 73
Total cylinders 3099 Tracks per cylinder 13

I think the problem is the size or type of the disk (RA92 <-> HSZ22)!
RA92 is an 1,2GB disk and I don't know what is HSZ22. Is that a disk or a RAID controller?

How can attach this 4GB disk image to SimH (VAX)? As user type?

TIA,
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 620
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on September 20 2017 02:30
HSZ22 is a generic disk type. It is not the issue. It looks like you have a corrupted disk image file. You could run Alpha VMS from an installation CD and see if you can mount the disk. If not, you'll need to recreate the volume.
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 20 2017 19:24
Hi,

My image is running under FreeAXP and I can mount it under FreeAXP with OpenVMS 8.4.
I wanted to mount under VAX machine because I don't have to use FreeAXP checking or searching files on the disk.

HSZ22 was told by FreeAXP. It is a 4GB image from a Fujitsu M2954ESP SCSI disk with Linux dd command.

TIA,
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 620
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on September 21 2017 01:52
If the volume mounts under Alpha OpenVMS (FreeAXP) and is not ODS-5, it should mount under VAX OpenVMS (SimH). My best guess at this point is that the disk sizing is wrong in the SimH configuration file.
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 21 2017 08:51
Hi,

What is the maximum disk size in VAX? I read somewhere it is RA92? (1,2Gsmiley
My image is 4GB. How can I mount it then?

TIA,
Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
Bruce Claremont
Member

Posts: 620
Joined: 07.01.10
Posted on September 22 2017 02:07
VMS 7.3 can handle much bigger than 4GB. You need to declare the disk size explicitly, something like this:

set -L rq2 RAUSER=8378368
att rq2 D:\VAX\DUA2.img



Author RE: Alpha AXP disk image in SimH VAX
rattila
Member

Posts: 56
Location: Budapest
Joined: 11.08.17
Posted on September 24 2017 04:11
Hi,

Defining the disk size with the rauser= parameter, the mount was successfull!

Thank you very much!
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive