Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesTuesday, April 23, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 2
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyists and OpenVMS | How I Use OpenVMS
Author set noon does not act as expected
Micha

Posted on January 20 2007 01:34
Hi,

I am still a beginner with VMS. Currently I am doing some execises based on a textbook*) and came accross a system behavior which i do not understand.

In the example the statement "set noon" is used to temporarily disable error detection. As described in the book, this would be useful if one wants to delete some temporary files and it is not sure if they are really there. I tried a command procedure test.com with the following contents:

$ ! deletion of certain temporary files
$ say := write sys$output
$ !
$ set noon
$ delete/nolog for*.dat;*
$ set on
$ !
$ say "the procedure made it to this point"
$ exit

Now this command procedure does not behave as I would expect it. No matter if I have the "set noon" statement enabled or disabled - I always get an error message if there are no matchin files. And the procedure always makes it to the following output statement instead of exiting on the error.

Could anyone of the more experienced VMS guys explain what is wrong with that?

Kind Regards,

Micha

-----
*) the book I am practising with: Michael D. Duffy, Getting started with OpenVMS
Edited by imiller on March 13 2008 00:42
Author Re: set noon does not act as expected
brad

Posted on January 20 2007 03:28
[quote:fb45e080f9="Micha"]Hi,

I am still a beginner with VMS. Currently I am doing some execises based on a textbook*) and came accross a system behavior which i do not understand.