Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesTuesday, May 07, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 3
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Hobbyists and OpenVMS | Introduction Forum
Author Greetings from Lincolnshire, UK
Alex_Rawson

Posted on July 14 2006 07:33
Hiya all,
I am a semi-retired DEC programmer (I say that cos I am not old enough to retire, but I have been sort of forced to live in Lincolnshire and well....computers and certainly DEC machines aren't the sort of thing you find round here, and jobs programming them...forget it!!!)

I have been a programmer/analyst/systems designer on DEC stuff since 1982 and have worked in a variety of scenarios. I have managed to get my hands on a Alphaserver 4100 5/400. It has 4 CPU's, 2048MB RAM and 8 * 18GB Discs.

I really don't know what I will do with it, I saw it....and well...I just HAD to get it !!! smiley

This is my introductory post....there might be some more :wink:

ttfn
Author Re: Greetings from Lincolnshire, UK
brad

Posted on July 14 2006 16:23
[quote:bfac6cc887="Alex_Rawson"] [...]
I have been a programmer/analyst/systems designer on DEC stuff since 1982 and have worked in a variety of scenarios. I have managed to get my hands on a Alphaserver 4100 5/400. It has 4 CPU's, 2048MB RAM and 8 * 18GB Discs.

I really don't know what I will do with it, I saw it....and well...I just HAD to get it !!! smiley [...][/quote:bfac6cc887]

Well...

You could run VMS on it, along with a web server (OSU, WASD, or Apache) and SAMBA (for file services). Stable, relatively secure, etc. Have fun...
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author good system - go and play
imiller
Administrator

Posted on July 16 2006 22:10
Good system! smiley