Home · Articles · Downloads · Hobby Wear · Forums · Web Links · News CategoriesThursday, June 20, 2024
Navigation
Home
Articles
Downloads
Hobby Wear
FAQ
Forums
Web Links
News Categories
Contact Us
Photo Gallery
OpenVMS Bigot
Search
Users Online
Guests Online: 5
No Members Online

Registered Members: 7,708
Newest Member: nifseg
Sponsors
Island Computer
View Thread
OpenVMS Hobbyist Program | Alpha Systems Forums | Alpha Hardware Forum
Author Try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alphastation
Anonymous
Member

Posts: 30
Joined: 11.12.05
Posted on December 20 2005 10:08
I try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alpahstation 255 with 32 MB memory.

It wil not boot. I get a error "Phisical memory overflow".

How much MB a need to run this version?
With version a need?

smileyops:

Thanks.
Author Re: Try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alphastation
brad
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 134
Location: Hopedale, MA USA
Joined: 15.12.05
Posted on December 20 2005 13:21
[quotesmiley6ca04bf5b="Sjoerd"]I try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alpahstation 255 with 32 MB memory.

It wil not boot. I get a error "Phisical memory overflow".

How much MB a need to run this version?
With version a need?

smileyops:

Thanks.[/quotesmiley6ca04bf5b]

I looked in the FAQ, and could not find an answer to this question (the FAQ is normally your friend):

<http://www.hp.com/go/openvms/faq>

The SPD says:

64MB minimum

I say:

put in the maximum your hardware will allow, for best responsiveness. :-)
http://www.turquoisewitch.com/~bradh
Author VMS Memory requirements
rjj
Member

User Avatar

Posts: 19
Location: Nottingham UK
Joined: 13.12.05
Posted on December 21 2005 04:36
To agree with Brad....

I think that 64Meg is the minimum and 128 is recommended.

My little old DEC 3000 certainly boots Alpha OpenVMS fine on 64 meg.

I think that VAXes will boot with much less.

However, regardless of platform, to agree with Brad again, performance
will be improved by having more than the minimum. Precisely how much
improvement you get will depend on the applications you are running
and thus the memory management strategies that you adopt.

Good Luck anyway - Russell
http://www.jotei.co.uk
Author Re: Try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alphastation
HobbyistOne
Super Administrator

User Avatar

Posts: 126
Location: Plano, TX
Joined: 20.02.08
Posted on December 22 2005 08:33
[quote:6bcedc62af="Sjoerd"]I try to run VMS 7-3-1 on a alpahstation 255 with 32 MB memory.

It wil not boot. I get a error "Phisical memory overflow".
[/quote:6bcedc62af]

You need more memory. The good news is that those Alphastations use standard PC SIMM memory, which is relatively cheap. However, you MUST get true-parity SIMM's or else it will not work.
Author
DavidDickinson
Member

Posts: 16
Location: Stonehouse, Gloucestershire, England
Joined: 13.03.06
Posted on March 15 2006 10:09
i have 384mb ram on my alphaserver 1000a

it loaded fine and runs fine.


regards
-dave-

yeah. late reply. just extra information
Jump to Forum:
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Member Poll
Are you going to OpenVMS Boot Camp 2016?

Yes

No

You must login to vote.
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

malmberg
August 04 2022
No more VAX hobbyist licenses. Community licenses for Alpha/IA64/X86_64 VMS Software Inc. Commercial VMS software licenses for VAX available from HPE.

ozboomer
July 20 2022
Just re-visiting.. No more hobbyist licenses? Is that from vmssoftware.com, no 'community' licenses?

valdirfranco
July 01 2022
No more hobbyist license...sad

mister_wavey
February 12 2022
I recall that the disks failed on the public access VMS systems that included Fafner

parwezw
January 03 2022
Anyone know what happened to FAFNER.DYNDS.ORG? I had a hobbyist account here but can longer access the site.

gtackett
October 27 2021
Make that DECdfs _2.1A_ for Vax

gtackett
October 27 2021
I'm looking for DECdfs V2.4A kit for VAX. Asking here just in case anyone is still listening.

MarkRLV
September 17 2021
At one time, didn't this web site have a job board? I would love to use my legacy skills one last time in my career.

malmberg
January 18 2021
New Hobbyist PAKs for VAX/VMS are no longer available according to reports. Only commercial licenses are reported to be for sale from HPE

dfilip
January 16 2021
Can someone please point me to hobbyist license pak? I'm looking for VAX/VMS 7.1, DECnet Phase IV, and UCX/TCPIP ... have the 7.1 media, need the license paks ... thanks!

Bart
October 16 2020
OpenVMS, and this website!

malmberg
September 05 2020
VSI community non-commercial licenses for AXP/IA64 are available now.

malmberg
September 05 2020
See the forum about licensing. Don't know if HPE hobby licenses still being issued. Commercial licenses still being sold.

silfox70
September 01 2020
I need the license for OpenVMS7.3. Where can I find them?

malmberg
August 29 2020
Eisner, which is currently being moved, got an SSH update and the keys were updated to more modern encryption standards.

Shoutbox Archive